Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2010, 12:46   #1

Boat: PDQ 32 LRC
Question Newbie Anchoring Question

I'm a relative newbie at anchoring--one bareboat charter out of St Martin under my belt. I really didn't have any major problems, but they weren't always pretty either. The main recurring problem I had was this scenario: I would pick a spot I wanted to be, head into the wind and pull about 150 feet ahead of that spot (depending on the scope desired), put the engine in neutral and signal the first mate to drop the anchor once we were stopped. Once the anchor was on the bottom, put in reverse and slowly back as she let out the rode. Here is where the problem arose. Invariably, the wind would push the bow one way or another and I found if very difficult to back in a straight line. So I would end up at 45 degrees or more from where I wanted to be, and setting the anchor at a 45 degree angle to the wind and from where the boat will be when the wind brings it around.

So, what am I missing? What is the correct technique?

Boat: Sun Oddysey 36i (Jeanneau), Danforth anchor, all chain rode, windlass, sand bottom.

Thanks

Jerry
Jerry Woodward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-08-2010, 13:01   #2

Boat: St. Francis 43 Brisa
Well you did it pretty right... I usually let the wind push me slowly downwind until I have out about 5 to 7 times the depth in anchor chain... ie. 10 feet deep... 70 feet of chain.