Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-07-2015, 09:00   #1
Marine Service Provider

Retired Coasty

Hello, I am Randy and I am a retired U.S. Coast Guardsman (23 years). I was fortunate enough to experience different aspects of the CG by starting my career on board the largest ice breaker in the U.S., the USCGC Glacier WAGB-4. I served on the Glacier from 1973 to 1975 and made one Arctic trip to Point Barrel AK and two Antarctic trips (deck force and Quartermaster).
My next assignment was at USCG Base St. Louis, MO. where I was a boat engineer at a very busy search and rescue unit on the Mississippi River (mostly body recovery).
My next CG assignment was at the Navy Aviation Training Center in Lakehurst NJ. where I attended the Aviation Survival Technician school which included ALSE, Ordinance / Weapons, and Para-rigger training. As I understand, this was the only military school that put you out FREE-FALL on your first jump. Yes, I jumped from a perfectly good aircraft!!
Next I was off to my first CG aviation unit, Traverse City, MI. and the rest is history. Kodiak AK (three tours), Elizabeth City, NC, Clearwater, FL, two recruiting tours, and I retired at Aviation Training Center, Mobile, AL in 1996. I crewed on HU-16, HC-130H, and HU-25A aircraft.
Soon after retirement, I started Aviation Survival Technologies and Marine Survival Technologies. My first contract was inspecting all aviation life support equipment carried by the Marine Safety Offices in the Eighth CG District. They used a special vest that required inspections every six months. Then I decided to start selling products on-line and I designed a water survival kit that could be worn by General Aviation Pilots during flight.