Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-04-2018, 03:59   #1

From physics to sailing. How?

Hello fellow mariners,

(I hope this is the right place, otherwise may an admin please move this post accordingly.)

I have been reading here for a while already, since I started sailing about 2 years ago. In the meantime I did my RYA Dayskipper, have been sailing in the Med and Atlantic and I am now planning to get my own sailing boat one day (better sooner than later ) to make the transition to live afloat and explorer the world from the sea. Ideally something in the range of 40-45 foot, not too old, lets say max 10 years.

However, as all of you know, sailing and especially getting your own boat is a financial challenge to say the least. Unfortunately I don't have a the financial background to "just do it", as I have been told already many times from other full-time sailors. In fact I am just a physicist with an academic degree in spectroscopy and computational modelling, and working in academia is not one of the best paid jobs. And since my contract runs out soon, I am currently looking for a new job.

Considering that I want to get my own boat, the logic way of thinking seems to be to look for any "well paid job" related to my physics/spectroscopy education, which is already a challenge on its own due to the transition from fundamental academic research to industrial R&D. And, if that works, then start saving and wait another 5-10 years until I can afford my own boat to live on. But that is a pretty long projection ahead, 10 years is a looong time waiting. After all, buying a boat is financially almost equal to a (small) house.
(Also leisure sailing in the meantime will be limited as saving for the boat would have preference over spending it for a charter week.)