Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-04-2009, 12:50   #1

Boat: Kolibri 12'
Forgive me, i'm a beginner.

I hope you to be accepted in the group even tho I’m not a sailor. YET. I’m going to be, just not really sure where to start. I figure the best way to learn is just simple to ask. Talk to others who have been there done that. Problem is I’m a small town farm girl. And I have no one to ask. I don’t know any sailors. So here I am, hoping to learn from any or all of you. I have a million questions. I’m a horrible planner and am used to doing things spontaneously. This usually causes me to find things out the hard way, which is fine, I expect it. First thing I would like to know is how long can I go sailing in the Caribbean for? I’m Canadian. Do I need a Visa for anywhere if I am just island hopping for years? Are there any basic ‘rules of the road’ for out at sea? How much do you spend per day? I know it depends on where you are and what you are doing. I’m just looking to know how much it costs just to live, the bare necessities. And probably the next question going along with that: What are the possibilities of making a little cash on the side? Any amazing websites I should check out to learn from? Or books? I have already learned a lot from other forums on this site. Thank you! I’m sure I will be asking more questions as the summer goes on. Please forgive me if some of them seem stupid, I’m just trying to learn.
Julie Poch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2009, 14:07   #2
Eternal Member

Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE