Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Welcome Aboard > Meets & Greets
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-12-2014, 12:19   #1

Edmonton Alberta, somewhat new to sailing. Seeking advice....

Hello,

I am a bit of a rookie when it comes to sailing. I am a private pilot with a night rating and I have taken the knowledge from flying over to sailing. In fact I went to the west coast and had the opportunity to take a 40ft sailboat out for about 5 hours with a great instructor from Cooper Boats who allowed me to just play with a few of my ideas, ie sailing with flying in mind! Thus I was able to get this vessel moving, up to about 6 knots and learned to Tack and Gybe. I found this experience most rewarding. Played bowman for a while and then helmsman also. Very fun. Thus I have returned back to Edmonton and my wife and I have since taken and passed several courses in sailing. Restricted radio operators license, offshore navigation, celestial navigation and basic cruising.