Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2012, 08:45   #1

Question on Boat Suitability

Hello all, new user here with a question. So I have been out of work with this recession now for two years, and am starting to think that an early retirement and taking to the sea might not be such a bad idea. I have some sailing experience from when I was younger. I owned a laser and sunfish as a teenager, did some crewing on a J24, and rented an O'Day 25 a few times in my thirties. Granted with the big boat, I spent more time motoring than sailing and it was on a lake, but a I figure a little practice I will be ready for much more. I have a few bucks saved up, so I am not looking for some salvage job of a boat to take off in (I am not nuts), but I was hoping to get some feedback on a boat that I really feel drawn to. It is a very traditional looking craft, which I like. Who knows, maybe I was a viking in a past life .

60ft Viking Ship replica Buit in Norway 60ft Viking Ship replica Buit in Norway - eBay item number 130664106400

So what can the experts here advise me on in regards to this craft, will it do what I want? Sail the seven seas, and find adventure (while hopefully keeping me fairly safe)?

Thanks in advance for the help I am about to receive.
magnaubera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2012, 08:55   #2
cruiser

Re: Question on boat suitability

Dude that thing looks Sweet I say Go for it!
smackdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2012, 09:01   #3
CF Adviser

Boat: 14 meter sloop

When a 60' vessel with twin diesels is on sale for $5,000, you would not buying a boat, you'd be purchasing a liability.
Old 13-03-2012, 09:17   #4

sweat!! Do you have to say ARRRRGGHHH all the time?? and wear an eye patch??
Dacapo is offline   Reply With Quote