Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-08-2009, 10:29   #1

Boat: Islander 34
Sailing South: Liveaboard Migrancy?

Hey folks,

I live aboard my Searunner 37 trimaran in Vancouver, British Columbia. I work as a network administrator, and all I really need to do my day job is a laptop, electricity and a connection to the internet.

I'm curious about the logistics behind heading off and cruising internationally - has anyone here done much cross-border travel? I somehow doubt that the USA welcomes "vagrants" with open arms - how do you go about crossing the borders when your intent is to slowly make your way down the coast to Central America? What if that intent were something like "sail hard for a week, then anchor for a week or two and work on day-job stuff" - is this legal?

To me the idea seems pretty reasonable, but even crossing the border by car has gotten *much* stricter the past few years. How *do* you travel internationally by sailboat these days? Is it just a matter of not stopping?

What about work visas? I will technically be working from my boat, for a company in Canada, who have contracts with companies in the States. How does that factor in?

I'm not thinking immediately, but the Vancouver winter is slowly creeping closer, and I'm not looking forward to six months of cold rain - I can probably get through one winter here, but I would like to be gone for the winter of 2010/2011. I lived for a few years in Costa Rica and I'd like to make my way down that way again perhaps, and I have a lot of friends in the Bay Area - what's the legalities of spending some time there?

Anything helps!