Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2015, 19:52   #1

How to get my boat in the water??

Just bought a 25ft Hunter for my first sail boat. What all do I need in order to get her legally in the water to anchor out somewhere? How much does a Marina or whoever normally charge to launch a boat? I'm new to the sailing world and I'm trying to get my boat ready for a live aboard lifestyle. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Also I have no hitch on my car to tow it to the water. Any suggestions??
Mvivier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2015, 13:25   #2

Boat: Camano Troll
Re: How to get my boat in the water??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mvivier View Post
Just bought a 25ft Hunter for my first sail boat. What all do I need in order to get her legally in the water to anchor out somewhere? How much does a Marina or whoever normally charge to launch a boat? I'm new to the sailing world and I'm trying to get my boat ready for a live aboard lifestyle. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Also I have no hitch on my car to tow it to the water. Any suggestions??
Where do you live? In most states in the USA you must register your boat with the state, often with the DNR. Use the Internet to find out the details.

Is your boat on a trailer or just sitting in your yard on blocks? If it's on a trailer, you can probably find someone with a vehicle with a tow hitch to move it for you or if your car is big enough you can have a hitch installed on it.

Unless you're planning on leaving it in a marina or on a mooring, you will have to tow it back home when you're done.