Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-02-2014, 10:36   #1

Secondhand liveaboard

Ahoy yachties,
I'm a newbie and I want to purchase a yacht to live aboard but I live in Australia and boats are ridicullously expensive here. Just about everyone who buys a boat goes overseas. What I'd like is some recommendations on the best places to search for secondhand yachts? I've been told the Carribian and Florida so far but was wondering if there are any others. I need to get a steal of a deal and must not get ripped off. I only get one chance at this. If it goes bad then I'm gonna be homeless.
Thanks to those who can offer me advice, Steve
Stevediveski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2014, 20:58   #2

Boat: Pearson 36-2
Re: Secondhand liveaboard

Hey Steve,
I assume you have scoured yachtworld.com for boats in the USA? They have many boats listed. I recommend spending allot of time online searching, sometimes a deal can show up based on the level of the seller's desperation, which could be anywhere. There are probably more deals in Florida simply because there are so many boats in that state. But beware of boats that look nice online and have been used in the charter trade, the ratio I hear is 1 year of charter equals 5 years of an individual boat use. These are often Virgin Island based Beneteau's and Bavaria's.

Very best of luck, Fair winds,

Curt of the Jib
Curt of the jib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2014, 01:12   #3

Boat: Hunter 44DS

Hi, while looking on yachtworld.com keep looking locally as I had been planning on going overseas to buy a yacht for a couple of years when my dream boat turned up in Bundaberg, at a better price than I could have bought overseas, fitted out, sailed back & paid GST. GOOD LUCK
Akapeterc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2014, 04:37   #4

Boat: S-2 9.2cc