Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Boat Ownership & Making a Living
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-07-2013, 20:45   #1

Need Advice: Buying to Rent in the Mediterranean

Hey guys this is my first time on any forum and want to give it a go.

I was thinking of possibly buying a cruiser for around $100,000 EUR in the Mediterranean (Croatia). As i live in Australia and will not be needing it most of the year, is it possible to rent this out the remainder of a year through a company in say Croatia that handles everything for you???

If so does anyone know details on this (company names, percent figures of return etc)

THANKS!
dane.mcguinness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2013, 21:49   #2

Boat: So many boats to choose from. Would prefer something that is not an AWB, and that is beachable...
Re: Need Advice: Buying to Rent in the Mediterranean

Quote:
Originally Posted by dane.mcguinness View Post
Hey guys this is my first time on any forum and want to give it a go.

I was thinking of possibly buying a cruiser for around $100,000 EUR in the Mediterranean (Croatia). As i live in Australia and will not be needing it most of the year, is it possible to rent this out the remainder of a year through a company in say Croatia that handles everything for you???

If so does anyone know details on this (company names, percent figures of return etc)

THANKS!
There are quite a few companies that do this. You should however not do this unless you really are an avid sailor, who likes to sail on his own boat. You should not do this for any monetary return on your investment, although you might get some.

A company I've chartered with that has a good reputation is Ecker Yachtig, and they offer this service, even for second hand yachts:
Ecker -*Yacht Invest*-*Yacht Invest