Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2018, 08:06   #1

Boat: Hunter 33.5'
cracks in keel serious?

After cleaning the hull last year for first time (new to me boat) I noticed several cracks in the keel that seem to have been there for a while. I am new to the sailing world and hoping this is not unusual or serious.

Should i be concerned? If only cosmetic, should I use some sort of filler (marine tex?) to fill the cracks before bottom painting?

I happened to notice another boat nearby (J33?) that had similar, which kinda put me at ease. My boat is a 1988 33.5' wing-keeled Hunter.

Thanks in advance for your insights!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0361.JPG
Views:	585
Size:	124.9 KB
ID:	167830   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0364.JPG
Views:	664
Size:	130.7 KB
ID:	167831  

Name:	IMG_0366.JPG
Views:	364
Size:	133.2 KB
ID:	167832   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0368.JPG
Views:	350
Size:	110.8 KB
ID:	167833  

Name:	IMG_0370.JPG
Views:	466
Size:	79.4 KB
ID:	167834   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0372.JPG
Views:	531
Size:	99.8 KB
ID:	167835  

i-Zapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 08:17   #2

Re: cracks in keel serious?

My guess is that is just where the keel bolts onto the fiberglass keel stub. Clean up the groove and recaulk it, grind flush after it sets up before painting.
The aft end crack has a bit of gap, so maybe test the tightness of the keel bolts/nuts.

Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 08:54   #3

Boat: 1962 Columbia 29 MK 1 #37