Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-07-2013, 03:51   #1

Boat: Pearson 30
No Exhaust Water

I'm new to sailing and have a 1980 Pearson 30 with a Universal 5411 engine with a raw water cooling system. I made a very rookie mistake and forgot to open my raw water through hull when motoring out to sail. I noticed a rubber burning smell on the return to mooring which turned out to the impeller. None of the blades broke off and I replaced it the next day but no water came out the exhaust when I started up.

I took off the hose from the impeller pump to the engine and filled it with water to prime it. Still nothing. I tried blowing on this hose to force water through the block but was unable to force any water through the system. With this hose disconnected, there was water coming from the impeller housing but rather weak stream....more like a very old man taking a leak.

I talked to someone at the marina who mentioned something about the exhaust hose collasping from the heat but didn't understand.

Help!
Contraman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 04:29   #2

Boat: Able 50
Re: No Exhaust Water

Replace both of your salt water pipes. There are only two - one in and one out. While you are there open up and clean the strainer. That is a round filter that will be part of the salt water inlet system.
savoir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2013, 05:52   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by savoir View Post
Replace both of your salt water pipes. There are only two - one in and one out. While you are there open up and clean the strainer. That is a round filter that will be part of the salt water inlet system.
I cleaned the strainer and will replace both intake and outtake hoses on the impeller when I go to the boat today. Two questions: