Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-11-2014, 04:09   #16

Boat: Admiral Catamaran, 40'
Re: Newbie wants a CAT

Hi there Newbie

I am also a newbie. We bought a 40' Admiral Catamaran about a year and a half ago and have done our dayskippers on her. We are currently busy with our Coastal practical after having completed the Coastal theory.

We bought the boat when she was about 18 months old with only 80 hours on the motors. She had had hardly been used. She cost us about 270,000 USD.

We are South African's and the boat we bought was manufactured here.

Admiral, Knysna, St Francis, Robertson & Caine, Maverick etc are all South African manufacturers.

I believe Admiral, St Francis and Knysna were all designed by Angelo Lavranos. They are regarded as good boats that handle difficult conditions well. Some complain that bridge-deck clearance is a bit low but we are very happy with ours.

The point is that these boats can be had at reasonable prices especially when bought second hand.

Google "Catamarans for sale South Africa" and follow the links to brokerages and see what they have on offer.

I think narrowing it down to just 2 or 3 manufacturers will exclude a lot of good boats from your potential list. Once you find something that looks like it is a candidate do your homework on the design and the manufacturer.

There has been some very good advice given here and I would totally agree with going with a well respected surveyor before finalising any purchase.

For us the qualifications are important to get us to a point where we will feel confident in managing the boat on our own under most circumstances. We believe that this will still take a year or two.

Kind regards and good luck!
Oceanaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2014, 04:22   #17
One of Those