Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-03-2012, 15:09   #1

Boat: Leopard 40
Multihull Handling in Emergencies

I'm new to multihulls and would like some advice on boat handling in emergencies.

The quick-stop maneuver is typically recommended for a man overboard situation. I'm interested in how it should be conducted in a multihull when going downwind, particularly at higher wind speeds.

Another maneuver is reefing. There was a recent article in MultiHull Worlds about reefing while going downwind, which seemed to work for us. What is the general feeling about reefing while going downwind vs turning head-to-wind?

Are there any other maneuvers in a multihull that warrant caution?

Thanks!
sailor1026 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-2012, 15:28   #2

Boat: 50ft powercat, light,long and low powered
Re: Multihull handling in emergencies

I strongly advise buying this , reading it and learning it

https://www.oz-e.com.au/multihullbooks/seaman.html
Old 24-03-2012, 21:05   #3

Boat: Seawind 1160, 38 foot
Send a message via Skype™ to Mick C
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailor1026
I'm new to multihulls and would like some advice on boat handling in emergencies.

The quick-stop maneuver is typically recommended for a man overboard situation. I'm interested in how it should be conducted in a multihull when going downwind, particularly at higher wind speeds.

Another maneuver is reefing. There was a recent article in MultiHull Worlds about reefing while going downwind, which seemed to work for us. What is the general feeling about reefing while going downwind vs turning head-to-wind?

Thanks!