Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-05-2007, 13:32   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: My father had, in my college years & into my mid-adulthood, a Pearson 365 Ketch, 45' Gulfstar Sloop.
pirate Hobiecat between the Hawaiian Islands??

Hello All!

I'm new here but have been sailing off/on since my youth. I'm a married 49 y/o firefighter/paramedic. My son, brother in law and I are looking at Hobiecats in Hawaii. My son, 21, and BIL, 53, live in Kona and we want a Hobiecat here.

We've found some in other islands and wondered how practical would it be to buy one and sail it back from there... I found a sweet one on Craigslist located in Kauai North Shore. Would it be doable? How about a few boats sailing together?

Of course radios, etc., would be an absolute prerequisite... Hand-held VHS and Garmin GPS, etc.

I'd LOVE to have any and all of your ideas.

Dean
FiremedicSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 13:47   #2

Boat: 47' Olympic Adventure
Dean,

I wouldn't do it without a "support boat" accompanying me. I would think Hobie sailing is quite a workout, and if the wind and waves turn on you, you'll be exhausted. With another boat there, at least you have the option of towing the hobie.
Lodesman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 14:17   #3

Aren't you talking about something like 300 miles?

If things were calm enough to be relatively comfortable, you'd have many days of sailing with nothing but the tramp to sit on. Think 5 knots for 60 hours.