Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-10-2011, 11:09   #1

Boat: FP Mahe 36
Question 40' Cat for ICW

Hi Everyone,
I am a newbie, so "bear" with me,
I have a FP Mahe and finds it does not "like" short 4 plus feet waves on the nose, I intend to travel up and down the US east coast, I am thinking of upgrading to a 40 footer. Lipari or Leopard 40 (maybe not the L39 since it has a 36 ft LWL same has the Mahe), anybody has experience with these in short tall waves?

Thanks,
Michelhhhebert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2011, 11:34   #2

Boat: Alura 30
Re: 40 ft Cat for ICW

Catamarans in general don't like this scenario,it means you are going in the wrong direction....
JC.
jean1146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2011, 11:41   #3

Hi Jean,

Unfortunetly, if I want my boat south during the winter I have to "face" the music. How do you like your Mahe?
Old 25-10-2011, 11:52   #4

Have you considered the ICW for part of the way south?
Noname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2011, 12:09   #5

Yes,
That's the title of my posting, which restricts me in choices for the mast height, unfortunetly, New York to Cape May is on the open, the Delaware bay can be quite rough, so can the Chesapeake down to Norfolk, and I would rather be outside as much as I can, this is why I am contemplating a longer water line in the hopes it would make semi-rough weather more bearable.... your thoughts are appreciated... PS although i love IP's I will not go back to monos...
Old 25-10-2011, 13:22   #6

Boat: Alura 30

We logged about 12000 nautical miles with our Mahe since we got it in spring of 2007.Never had any problems.I have learned to be patient and go with the wind instead of trying to have a schedule and get myself and the boat beat up.
JC.