Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2014, 13:07   #1

Where would you go?

Where would you cruise if you were in our shoes?

My wife and I are in our late twenties and live aboard our Nor'West 33. We will be leaving Puget Sound this summer and headed south. We have little plans beyond that. I have lots of offshore experience, my wife has little. The boat is equipped for cruising and well maintained.

I am a shipwright/carpenter/fisherman/business major and my wife is a teacher/financial assistant. We will have about $50,000 that any amount of could be spent on the trip. Meaning if we spent it all we would still be able to settle into a land based life; but spending less and extending our trip would be great.

We are open to any suggestions; Mexico, Hawaii, Fiji, circumnavigation? I am very interested to hear what others would do. And happy to give more information if that would help.

Thanks
Daybreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 13:53   #2

Boat: Outbound 44
Re: Where would you go?

Sounds like you guys are well setup to take off. I'd head to Pacific Mexico for a season. This will get you into some fun, easy and cheap cruising. Then figure out what you want to do to the boat to better match your style of cruising. Then you can decide where you'll spend hurricane season and where to go for the cruising season.
Old 05-01-2014, 15:09   #3

Boat: Sabre 402