Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2008, 08:44   #1

Ta Shing Panda

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here so be gentle

I'm looking at purchasing a 38' Ta Shing Panda for some off shore adventures.
Can't seem to find that much info on the net.

Is this a good choice for an off shore boat ? Would I be better off with something else?
Also considering a Tayana 37. as well Island Packet 38' (although I may break the budget)
My offshore experience is very limited so I'm looking for a forgiving boat.

My budget is about 100K give or take 30K
marco2u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2008, 09:31   #2

Boat: Panda/Baba 40
I'm eyeing similar boats as you. I've always thought the older (70's) Tayana 37's seemed like a pretty good value. Never been able to find out why they are so much less expensive than similar TaShing, Lord Nelson, or Hans Christians. Maybe someone knowledgeable can fill us in.
anotherT34C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2008, 12:24   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
Now thats a name I have never heard before. Any more info available about it???

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-2008, 13:28   #4

Boat: gozzard 44
In his book, "Yacht Design According to Perry", Bob Perry talks about designing the Tashiba 36 (LOA 35'11" - which, if you add the 2' bowsprit might be called 38 by some).

The next larger boat is the Baba 40, which was also called Panda 40 or Tashiba 40 - all being the same boat designed by Perry and built by the Ta Shing yard in Taiwan. The confusion in names was due to changes of marketing and personnel over the period.