Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2008, 04:58   #1

Boat: C&C 38'
Are Motor Sailers any good?

Hey there,

I am a newbie. In searching for the boat I occasionally see "motor sailer" as the description.
1. Some things that try to be two things wind up not doing either very well.
2. Retired couples in the ICW and the Bahamas and Caribbean seem to spend a lot of time motoring and/or motor sailing. It could be if that is where we want to go we should just get a motor sailer.

What are your opinions? You guys seem to have some pretty strong opinions and you are not shy about revealing them. Let us hear what you think.

Thanks (16 months untill retirement!)
Old 02-02-2008, 05:24   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
"motor sailer"
There are two types. Some just are sail boats with an enclosed pilot house. They are popular in cold climates for the reasons you might expect. The behave just as any sailboat would and come in some pretty fancy packages too. Many of the Nordic designs are quite striking. You may not like them as much in hot climates but you don't have to give up sailing performance. Personally I always call them Pilot Houses since most all sail boats have an engine. Some listings refer to them as motor sailors.