Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > General Sailing Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-07-2015, 11:31   #1

Boat: Hunter 34
Which boat to enjoyably sail around the world

Hi

my name is Michael, I am 43 years old. My wifes name is Manuela and she is... younger than I am

We are planning to sail around the world starting end of 2016 and allowing us 2 years time to enjoy.I have been sailing for 30 years, but have never taken a long time off from work.

I would like to pick your brains about which boat we could use and for that I have prepared our boarder lines.

- Budget ~ US$ 90,000 for the completely outfitted boat
- LWL over 30 ft
- Berths for 4 max needed (us and maybe 2 friends for short visits)
- Route will be mainly in cool to warm waters
- Large fuel capacity (could be retrofitted if necessary)
- Start of tour is in Texas, USA

I know that opinions drift apart when it gets to Keel design for example, please throw all your experience and ideas out there for grabs.

Thanks, looking forward to your inputs

Michael
justmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-07-2015, 12:05   #2

Boat: 1980 Morgan 415
Re: Which boat to enjoyably sail around the world

While it goes against the thoughts of many here, a vessel with a spade rudder would not be my choice for a long distance cruiser.

Keel depth is also a trade off. Deeper limits leeway. Shallow allows access to more harbors.

I like the idea of a tough boat.

Good luck in ur travels.

------------------------------
Looking for another pretty place to work on the boat.
Old 30-07-2015, 12:07   #3

Boat: Catalina 30

Think sum 90 puts you in the older 34 or 36 monohull range if you want to add all the goodies.