Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-11-2019, 16:42   #1

Boat: Columbia 9.6
Abacos 2020

Hello , i am presnetly at West palm beach and thinking how to get to exumas.
Options i see :
1. Go from West palm beach to memory rock and then to grand cay to check in ? And then continue to exumas ( but i am worried about the state of the abacos after Dorian)
2. Go more south and go to bimini and from there to exumas
3. Go from miami and head to check in in Nassau ?

Its my first time and i would prefer memory rock because i think its easier but i may be wrong
Pavel24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2019, 17:19   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Abacos 2020

I’ve been wondering the same, maybe check in at West end though and just sail through the Abaco’s just avoiding any settlements, but I have heard Green Turtle cay is operational? If so maybe they could use some money? By that I mean that just maybe spending some money there may help and isn’t a hand out. Some don’t like hand outs, but like to be paid for work they have done.

I would like to hear if anything has recovered in the Abaco’s, if fuel is available etc., but of course not taking anything they need, just maybe helping support a job or something.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2019, 18:43   #3

Boat: 1995 hunter 430
Re: Abacos 2020

from west palm to great harbour (berry islands) what a great check in spot
from there, spend a few days going down the berry chain and then hop over to rose island (Nassua).....from there over to Normans cay and you are in the exumas....enjoy
Navicula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2019, 19:11   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Abacos 2020

Quote:
Originally Posted by Navicula View Post