Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2016, 13:57   #16
Registered User
 
wrwakefield's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wrangell Island, Alaska
Boat: Nauticat 43
Posts: 861
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

Quote:
Originally Posted by svfinlandia View Post
Bill
Greetings from another Nauticater (NC36).
Just wanted to say that I am surprised that you didn't fry your microwave with a non-sine wave inverter. The spikes from a square wave type inverter are really hard on most electronics, and esp. a microwave.

Al, S/V Finlandia
Hey Al,

Thanks for reaching out. I do enjoy your contributions on the Nauticat forum.

I, too, am surprised the microwave survived the old inverter technology. I knew we would need to replace the inverter [and possibly the microwave] when we bought the boat in May 2014, and finally got around to installing our new inverter in early 2015... [Not that we use the microwave all that much when not on shore or generator power...]

Please touch base if you are ever near our area [SE AK] - we usually have a spare cabin...

Cheers!

Bill
__________________

__________________
SV Denali Rose

Short on opinions; focused on research, facts & experience [yours and ours...]
wrwakefield is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 15:00   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,848
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

My microwave runs fine on a magnum modified sine wave inverter. It takes a little longer to heat things I'm sure does suck a lot of juice
__________________

__________________
motion30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 15:45   #18
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Boat: CS27
Posts: 1,725
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankly View Post
Replacing the Freedom 10 with a Freedom 20 (2000 watt MSW), the inverter shuts down immediately when we start the microwave (go figure).
The inverter is likely shutting down due to low voltage. When you draw 100 to 150 amps from a battery bank the voltage drops considerably if the bank is either older or too small.
__________________
mitiempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 15:56   #19
Registered User
 
Terra Nova's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Marina del Rey, California
Boat: Freya 39 cutter- Terra Nova
Posts: 3,645
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankly View Post
...Replacing the Freedom 10 with a Freedom 20 (2000 watt MSW), the inverter shuts down immediately when we start the microwave...
Could it be that you re-used under-size cables?
__________________
1st rule of yachting: When a collision is unavoidable, aim for something cheap.
"whatever spare parts you bring, you'll never need"--goboatingnow
"Id rather drown than have computers take over my life."--d design
Terra Nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 16:08   #20
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Boat: CS27
Posts: 1,725
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terra Nova View Post
Could it be that you re-used under-size cables?
Yes, undersized or too long cables can make the difference as well.
__________________
mitiempo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 16:38   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Boat: Nordic 44
Posts: 101
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

MarK
Which model magnum do you have? I have a magnum MS 2000 which is a pure sine wave. I also have the same set up with a 700 watt micro and slightly larger agm house bank. No real problems. The micro needs longer than your typical home micro which is probably more powerful. The noise I have is a typical hum.
Most likly you do not have an inverter issue. Lots of good advice above.
__________________
pitlaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 16:57   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Orential N.C.
Boat: 1981 Morgan OI 41
Posts: 162
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

How far from the battery bank is the inverter and what size cables do you have?
In my motor home I mounted it right next to the batts and used cables big as my little finger that was overkill but it gets the job done.
__________________
Salty Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 17:31   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa,Canada
Boat: Prout Snowgoose 37' Catamaran
Posts: 230
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

Here's an odd one which I haven't figured out on our boat.

We have a Xantrex pro 1800W modified Sin inverter. In order for our microwave to work I must turn on a second load (an incandescent bulb) before the microwave will start up correctly - once running it can be turned off! If the bulb is not turned on the microwave runs, but incorrectly (platter turns very slowly and makes an odd noise).
__________________
geoffr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 17:44   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Nanaimo BC
Boat: modified Spray 56' oa
Posts: 349
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

If you look at the modified sine wave on an oscilloscope it looks like a bunch of square waves with the edges rounded a bit. Sort of like ride
ing your motorcycle on rail road ties. Gets you there but vibrates .Lots of digital stuff just smokes.
__________________
topmast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 18:16   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

Quote:
Originally Posted by geoffr View Post
Here's an odd one which I haven't figured out on our boat.

We have a Xantrex pro 1800W modified Sin inverter. In order for our microwave to work I must turn on a second load (an incandescent bulb) before the microwave will start up correctly - once running it can be turned off! If the bulb is not turned on the microwave runs, but incorrectly (platter turns very slowly and makes an odd noise).
I had an inverter in an RV that would not start the tv unless a light bulb was turned on to kick the inverter out of standby mode. Seems that your Xantrex is not seeing the microwave as a load.
__________________
misssherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 21:52   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,696
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

I have no issues running mircowaves on the 2000w pure sine ones. as above check voltage at inverter. if you have the rc50 screen it should tell you on it.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 23:09   #27
Senior Cruiser
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43
Posts: 6,709
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
I have no issues running mircowaves on the 2000w pure sine ones. as above check voltage at inverter. if you have the rc50 screen it should tell you on it.
Nor does anyone else.

The problems are with many microwaves and many modified sine wave inverters. And the problem is not the shown AC voltage it is the waveform of the AC and often also the way that waveform varies with differing DC input voltages.
__________________
StuM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 00:56   #28
Senior Cruiser
 
Wanderlust's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NSW Central Coast
Boat: Lagoon 410
Posts: 499
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

I have a 700W electronic microwave (1150W input), running from a 1500W modified sine wave inverter. The microwave was the smallest and most basic I could find in the store.

It runs OK on the inverter but is noisier than when on mains power. Heating food takes quite a bit longer. I also found that if the house battery bank is down a bit, the microwave will switch itself off (or maybe the inverter resetting itself).

I'm not expecting a long life from this microwave.
__________________
Steve
Wanderlust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 01:43   #29
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,737
Re: Running Microwave from inverter

I think you've gotten your answer already, but I will add one tiny detail --

If your microwave is 900 watts, is that output power or input draw? Those are very different things. 900 watts output is fairly typical of medium sized microwaves, but these will typically need about 1500 watts to run.

So it is possible that you have a power problem as well as wave form problem. Note also that inverters are often rated deceptively. My Victron looks like 3000 watts, but if you read the specs carefully, it's really 3000kVA, or 2500 watts. And that's only at 20 degrees C. At normal operating temperature it's really more like 2000 watts . Now that being said, this inverter does run everything on board without any big problems. I even run a washer/dryer off it while motoring.


It pays to read the specs carefully, before assuming what the practical output is from these units.

And in any case, as others have suggested, it would be a good idea to ditch the modified sine wave and get a true sine wave unit. Many types of equipment will work ok on modified sine wave, but others will not, and the difference in cost is not that great, so why mess with it?
__________________

__________________
"Parce que je suis heureux en mer, et peut-Ítre pour sauver mon ame. . . "
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microwave on inverter?? stevensuf Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 28 23-06-2012 08:58
Microwave, Inverter and Amps msulc Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 11 25-08-2010 12:13
Any Info on Microwave Turkey ? over40pirate Provisioning: Food & Drink 10 16-01-2009 13:05
Covection microwave ovens? Strygaldwir Provisioning: Food & Drink 7 14-07-2008 04:03



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.