Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2012, 14:56   #1
Registered User
 
Sulaire's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet earth
Boat: Hans Christian 41
Posts: 189
Generator question

Hi,

I have a next gen 3.5 which has run well for a couple of years.

After reviewing my wiring, i decide to put in fuses etc at the batteries as these were totally absent for engine, and house banks. So far so good, i then thought about the fact that the generator was basically hard wired to the batteries with no fuse or isolation switch. I put in a 250 amp anl fuse and also a simple battery on/ off switch to disconect the generator from any power source when not in use or to isolate it in the event of a problem.

Problem is that now the generator starts fine but will not out put any current. I think the capacitors need exiting?, could this be due to the fact that i leave the generator "cold", ie switch off the switch when i am not using it hence the capacitors discharge? This never happened when the generator was hard wired?

Charlie.
__________________

__________________
Sulaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:14   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Baltimore
Boat: Contest,43, Mekeia
Posts: 3
Re: Generator question

I have the same generator and for the last couple years that I've been cruising I've had to replace my capacitors every few months. Next Gen says it's due to heat. It is installed in my engine compartment with free flow of air around it(not sound proofed) and I installed a fan to blow directly on the capacitor and still the problem.
__________________

__________________
mekeia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:36   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,766
Re: Generator question

The DC and the AC side are not connected except by the bridge rectifier to charge the start battery. It sounds like you fried the regulation capacitor, un related to switching the dc start circuit.

the cap is located under the black plastic housing on the generator, relatively cheap to replace, and you should have a spare on hand anyway.
__________________
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 09:40   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oriental, NC
Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
Posts: 1,429
Re: Generator question

ABYC does not require a fuse or breaker in the battery to starter circuit and I think it is a bad idea but not so much that I would take it out. But that has nothing to do with the generator's AC.

It may be the capacitors (which are going to self discharge within a minute or so of stopping the generator in any case) or it may be loss of residual magnetism in the stator which is necessary to "bootstrap start" excitation. There is a "flash" procedure, probably in the NextGen documents to deal with this.

If you disconnect the transfer switch before shutting down the generator, they will usually retain their magnetism for the next time. If you leave it on, they often won't.

David
__________________
djmarchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:26   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,573
Images: 240
Re: Generator question

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, mekeia.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 04:46   #6
Registered User
 
Sulaire's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet earth
Boat: Hans Christian 41
Posts: 189
Hi guys,

Thanks for the advice, i will get some capaitors and change over as suggested, hopefully that will work.

I read in nigel calder a procedure to flash the caps by putting 9v battery through an ac outlet, ( with the power off!, but the selector switch at the gen position?)

Sounds hair raising to me !!! What do you think?

C.
__________________
Sulaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2012, 06:34   #7
Registered User
 
Sulaire's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet earth
Boat: Hans Christian 41
Posts: 189
Thanks mekeia, i swapped out the capacitor and it works great now!

Charlie.
__________________

__________________
Sulaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.