Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-03-2016, 13:30   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Our Hans has a 30amp and 50amp shore power inlet connection. Up to this point, we only used the 30amp due to:

1-not having a 50amp power chord
2-The 50amp ground wire does no have a galvanic isolator installed.

The 30amp ground does have a Promariner 30amp galvanic isloator. So that got me thinking. Both grounds go to the same grounding bus, why cant I get rid of the 30amp gavanic isolator and add a 60amp and connect both 30amp and 50amp ground wire to the same isolator. The 50amp and 30amp will never be plugged in at the same time so no concern overloading the system.

I cant see any downside to this but I leave this to the better judgement on CF.
__________________

__________________
HBWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2016, 14:04   #2
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,033
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

"The 50amp and 30amp will never be plugged in at the same time"
Nice theory. But unless it is physically impossible to do so--I'd look for an 80A not a 60A.
__________________

__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2016, 15:57   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellosailor View Post
"The 50amp and 30amp will never be plugged in at the same time"
Nice theory. But unless it is physically impossible to do so--I'd look for an 80A not a 60A.
I understand making things idiot proof, but If I am dumb enough to plug in both a 50amp shore power and a 30amp shore power into the dual seperate receptacles, I deserve the stupidity that is coming to me and should not own a sailboat or let alone leave the house for fear of imminent death.

You can't fix stupid.
__________________
HBWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2016, 16:41   #4
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,033
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

It is not a question of whether you are dumb enough, but if someone else is left on the boat, or gets on the boat, or some other "Oh, that's never gonna happen" happens. Good engineering looks at those things and makes them impossible. Sadly, that encourages the survival of the non-fittest. But sometimes, it prevents fatigued people from going "oops" as well. Sometimes worth considering.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2016, 21:22   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

both would be running through a transfer switch so even with both pluged in, only one could have current. I would do it.


though since you already have the 30, and are buying a 60. I would run both.


if you didn't have either to start with, I would buy the 60 and put in only.
__________________
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2016, 21:25   #6
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 2,593
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Next time you have an insurance survey, a savvy surveyor will catch it and your insurer will make you change it anyway.
__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2016, 21:27   #7
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 2,593
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
both would be running through a transfer switch so even with both pluged in, only one could have current.
Then you could have 50amps running through a 30amp isolator !
Sleep well
__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2016, 00:16   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatpoker View Post
Then you could have 50amps running through a 30amp isolator !
Sleep well
the topic of this thread is replacing his 30 with a 60
__________________
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2016, 00:41   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 108
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
the topic of this thread is replacing his 30 with a 60
Exactly, I would remove the 30amp isolator and install a 60amp. Why 60amp? It looks like most companies do not make a 50amp, so 60amp is the next best. This would allow me to save space and time by running both ground wires through the same isolator. If I was running 30 amp shore power, no problem, or 50 amp shore power, no problem. Again it seams to my novice mind that this is a win/win but...
__________________
HBWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2016, 05:46   #10
Marine Service Provider
 
boatpoker's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario or Bahamas
Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Posts: 2,593
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by HBWT View Post
Exactly, I would remove the 30amp isolator and install a 60amp. Why 60amp? It looks like most companies do not make a 50amp, so 60amp is the next best. This would allow me to save space and time by running both ground wires through the same isolator. If I was running 30 amp shore power, no problem, or 50 amp shore power, no problem. Again it seams to my novice mind that this is a win/win but...
Only if you also put in a lock-out transfer switch too.
__________________
That hysterical laughter you hear as you sail a way in your "new" boat ..... is the seller.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2016, 22:28   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatpoker View Post
Only if you also put in a lock-out transfer switch too.
this is required with or without the galvanic isolator... otherwise the other shore plug would go live.
__________________
smac999 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-2016, 08:34   #12
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Anacortes
Boat: previous - Whitby 42 new - Goldenwave 44
Posts: 1,735
Re: Combining 50A and 30A Galvanic Isolator

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
this is required with or without the galvanic isolator... otherwise the other shore plug would go live.
Absolutely correct!! And the switch should be before any loads with no possibility for the shorepower inlet on either side to go hot from an inverter.
__________________

__________________
exMaggieDrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
galvanic isolator

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: DEI Marine 30A Galvanic Isolator vf84sluggo Classifieds Archive 0 20-01-2016 11:40
Marinco 50A to 30A converter Blues_Harp Classifieds Archive 0 29-03-2014 13:43
For Sale: Marinco Y- 50a male-two 30a female- lightly used. islandsailing Classifieds Archive 0 13-09-2013 10:13
30a service to 50a.... read the post. s/v 'Faith' Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 15 04-10-2012 15:18
For Sale: Shorepower Pigtail - Marinco 121A Adapter 30A Female to 50A Male Critical Classifieds Archive 2 11-11-2010 23:25



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.