Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2012, 16:50   #121
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Pavel

The last change submitted to sourceforge to fix timedate does not work on windows.
The time is off by 17 hours or 7 hours.

Chuck
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 22:32   #122
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,211
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Chuck...
Can't duplicate with my GPS or any recorded data I have available. Could we have a look at your NMEA stream? And also we need to know what time did your dashboard show and what was the timezone set on your system while you recorded it.

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2012, 23:08   #123
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,211
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Quote:
Originally Posted by nohal View Post
Chuck...
Can't duplicate with my GPS or any recorded data I have available. Could we have a look at your NMEA stream? And also we need to know what time did your dashboard show and what was the timezone set on your system while you recorded it.

Pavel
No need for the stream, after doing a few hops around the planet, I found the problem.
Code:
diff --git a/plugins/dashboard_pi/src/clock.cpp b/plugins/dashboard_pi/src/clock.cpp
index 9dccad3..17dbe41 100644
--- a/plugins/dashboard_pi/src/clock.cpp
+++ b/plugins/dashboard_pi/src/clock.cpp
@@ -63,7 +63,7 @@ void DashboardInstrument_Clock::SetUtcTime(int st, wxDateTime data)
       {
             if (data.IsValid())
             {
-                  m_data = data.ToUTC().FormatISOTime().Append(_T(" UTC"));
+                  m_data = data.FormatISOTime().Append(_T(" UTC"));
             }
 
             Refresh(false);
@@ -81,7 +81,7 @@ void DashboardInstrument_Moon::SetUtcTime(int st, wxDateTime data)
       {
             if (data.IsValid())
             {
-                  int phase = moon_phase(data.ToUTC().GetYear(), data.ToUTC().GetMonth() + 1, data.ToUTC().GetDay());
+                  int phase = moon_phase(data.GetYear(), data.GetMonth() + 1, data.GetDay());
                   char sign = ' ';
                   if (phase > 0 && phase < 4)
                         sign = '+';
Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:54   #124
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Pavel

That fix worked for a valid RMC time. However, until the gps acquired a valid fix, the time shown was local time with "UTC" appended.

Chuck
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:11   #125
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,211
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Chuck...
I will have to get back to it - there are other problems when the time source considered the best disappears etc... Too late to touch it more for 3.0 though.
What you have seen should be rather easy to fix with
Code:
diff --git a/plugins/dashboard_pi/src/dashboard_pi.cpp b/plugins/dashboard_pi/src/dashboard_pi.cpp
index 0749a14..e04fa3e 100644
--- a/plugins/dashboard_pi/src/dashboard_pi.cpp
+++ b/plugins/dashboard_pi/src/dashboard_pi.cpp
@@ -831,6 +831,7 @@ void dashboard_pi::SetPositionFix(PlugIn_Position_Fix &pfix)
       {
             mPriDateTime = 6;
             mUTCDateTime.Set(pfix.FixTime);
+            mUTCDateTime = mUTCDateTime.ToUTC();
       }
       mSatsInView = pfix.nSats;
 }
Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:47   #126
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 153
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Hi,

I found that in Dashboard, if you select clock, time is getting from Windows system not from GPS satellite. I think more appropriate and more accurate is GPS time.

kubek
kubek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:49   #127
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,211
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Kubek...
Exactly this change I did a bit too late to be tested properly is causing what Chuck sees now...

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:54   #128
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Marina Del Rey
Boat: Hylas 44
Posts: 387
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Pavel

That fixed it. Awaiting 3.0.0.

Chuck
ChuckSK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:54   #129
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tierra del Fuego
Boat: Phantom 19
Posts: 6,211
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Chuck...
You already have it

Pavel
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:34   #130
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bodega Bay CA
Boat: Vindo 45 34ft Swedish built boat
Posts: 190
Images: 15
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

If I get a usb wifi for my computer to get my nmea data via the wifi will the open cpn see that as com port input?
ewitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 19:03   #131
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 328
Images: 1
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

I have not read the entire thread and I apologize if this question has an obvious answer. I'm using a multiplexer to pass nmea data to ocpn and this is working great. The one NMEA sentence that I want in the dashboard is VHW ... Speed Through Water. In dashboard, is there a display for this?
Also, is version 1.1 the latest?
Thank you in advance and thanks for this great tool
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2012, 20:45   #132
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bodega Bay CA
Boat: Vindo 45 34ft Swedish built boat
Posts: 190
Images: 15
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

I download 3.0 and my dashboard didn't include the data recorder. I tried downloading it again but I get errors. Does it work with 3.0?
Thanks
ewitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 08:50   #133
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,891
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewitts View Post
I download 3.0 and my dashboard didn't include the data recorder. I tried downloading it again but I get errors. Does it work with 3.0?
Thanks
Check out PlugIns | Official OpenCPN Homepage, and download a new version.
Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:09   #134
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 328
Images: 1
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Dashboard isn't available for download...
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 09:33   #135
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Helsingborg
Boat: Dufour 35
Posts: 3,891
Re: Plugin: DashBoard

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWB View Post
Dashboard isn't available for download...
This is because it is always distributed with OpenCPN, so there is never a need for a separate download. In other words, you already have the plugin. Activate it in ToolBox-Plugins tab.

Thomas
cagney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN PlugIn Development bdbcat OpenCPN 161 04-09-2019 12:50

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.