Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2012, 01:59   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 833
Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Works fine: I was just puzzled for a few seconds that I had no display with the Course up option, as opposed to North up, as my boat is at dock, and the COG is not defined.
A note on the display such as 'COG not defined' might help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image001.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	75.4 KB
ID:	41635   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image002.jpg
Views:	195
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	41636  

__________________

__________________
sailorF54 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 19:23   #2
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Tracker VOTING for Plugins has been enabled by Serge. Please VOTE in Tracker for all Plugin projects (upper right dropdown) for the Feature requests you'd like. Also please do make comments and add Feature Requests and Bug Reports. You'll need to register or log in to Vote, add items and make comments.

Tracker VOTING.
AIS Tracker

__________________

__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2013, 05:22   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Matthiesen & Paulsen, 40' Seefahrtkreuzer 50m2, 1935
Posts: 12
Hi,

I had this myself when docked. I may a fix and commited it to github
All other targets also dissapear, but there is no cog.
It fixed this by making "no cog" equal to 0, which is the same as northup.
I'll see if I can display a no cog message.
I'll put the compiled windows and arm linux plugins on sourceforge in the next few days.

Johan
__________________
Verezano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2013, 05:26   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

I put a feature request into flyspray, asking to make the targets appear in the same way in radar view and the main chart. E.g. it would be nice to have green mean the same thing on both, and the icons show similar alignment.

If this is not possible, then I would probably prefer a completely different picture, with different icons (a small circle with the COG vector?) and a different color code. Some AIS plotters just do it this way.

I was not able to upload a full screenshot to flyspray, so I attach it here, I think it shows what I mean.

Thanks a lot,

Piotr
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ais_radar.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	169.3 KB
ID:	72132  
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2014, 02:03   #5
Registered User
 
Gilletarom's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Boat: 10.50 mètres
Posts: 2,295
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

hello,

ASUS EeePC 1015. 10'. O 331328.

Trying AIS radar plugin I choice north up and I tick EBL checkbox.

What is exactly this EBL ?

If I understood correctly, choosing up north, this line should show the course followed by the boat user.

Looking at the two screenshots attached below, this is not the case.

Is it a bug in the plugin?
Or is it because OpenCPN is not able to track and update the same screen?

BB.R. Gilletarom.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-29_Plugin_AISRadar.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	74886   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-01-29_Plugin_AISRadar_2.jpg
Views:	171
Size:	29.0 KB
ID:	74887  

__________________
Gilletarom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2014, 04:03   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 619
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilletarom View Post
What is exactly this EBL ?
EBL is the Electronic Bearing Line, an arbitrary line that can be persistently set to any angle. The primary use is to see if an approaching target stays on the same bearing over time. Normal radar functionality, usually with 2 independent lines. It should keep the bearing, regardless of screen orientation...
__________________
PjotrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 05:58   #7
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Matthiesen & Paulsen, 40' Seefahrtkreuzer 50m2, 1935
Posts: 12
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Hi Piotr,

I changed the icon for the various ais targets.
Ships and yachts are depicted like in the main program.
However I do not differentiate between the different classes, like tagboat, tanker etc.

Code is available on github

Regards
Johan
__________________
Verezano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 14:36   #8
Registered User
 
boat_alexandra's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: chesapeake bay
Boat: bristol 27
Posts: 2,816
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

This is obviously not a bug of the plugin, but makes it not possible to use.

When I try to resize the radar window my x server crashes. Anyone else see this?
__________________
boat_alexandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2014, 10:20   #9
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Sean, In windows I can resize the AIS radar and also the program v3.2.0 without crashing. This is when I am running files in VDR for nmea input. What is puzzling is some of the AIS files I have do not show in the AIS radar, but they show fine ovverlayed on Ocpn charts... I have tried to move the boat etc. but the AIS Radar does not seem to pick the targets up. I have zoomed out thinking it would allow me to see the AIS targets....How do you locate this AIS Radar to get it to see the AIS Targets. On Opencpn Beta File thing there are some files under Nmea. Adriatic-AIS-NoGps-rausch.txt works, but some of the others don't. I've always wondered about that.
Attached Files
File Type: doc San-Francisco-Little-AIS.zip.doc (19.4 KB, 32 views)
File Type: doc Adriatic-AIS-rausch.zip.doc (219.9 KB, 40 views)
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2014, 12:59   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Matthiesen & Paulsen, 40' Seefahrtkreuzer 50m2, 1935
Posts: 12
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Do you have a screen shot as an example?
I usually test with live traffic at Flushing. The ais radar inherits the option not to display moored or slow (<0.2knt) targets.
Maybe that feature is causing this behaviour?

Johan
__________________
Verezano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2014, 13:17   #11
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Johan,
Try running AIS Radar with the two attached files running in VDR, maybe you can actually see the difference. I can see AIS targets moving in the the AIS chart overlay, but not in the AIS Radar window. I try clicking on Own boat etc and find it on the world chart, and AIS radar sill does not find Own boat for some reason. -

-Maybe the files Nmea is not right?
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2014, 13:47   #12
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 9,407
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Here are two shots:
First one with VDR running
Adriatic-AIS-rausch.txt

Second one with VDR running
Harmut-Netherlands-Markermeer-Wind-AIS.txt
the AIS is blank. VDR does not seem to be able to handle this 30mb file?

Third with NavmonPC running
Harmut-Netherlands-Markermeer-Wind-AIS.txt
with Virtual Port A = Com14 and Reciving in Opencpn...
Shows the AIS Targets in the radar.


Why the difference?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2014-07-18 15.31.59.png
Views:	151
Size:	168.3 KB
ID:	85185   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2014-07-18 15.42.10.png
Views:	154
Size:	124.3 KB
ID:	85186  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2014-07-18 15.24.23.png
Views:	163
Size:	228.8 KB
ID:	85187  
__________________
rgleason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2014, 14:00   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,019
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Rick...
The difference is obvious - in one of the streams there is no ownship position info so the plug-in has no idea what to show. The manually placed boat position is not transferred to the plug-ins in any way as it is kind of useless.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2014, 08:19   #14
Registered User

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Netherlands
Boat: Matthiesen & Paulsen, 40' Seefahrtkreuzer 50m2, 1935
Posts: 12
Re: Plug-in: Radar AIS View

Rick,

Pavel is right. The ais radar view assumes the own ship in the middle of the rings.
Based on the ships own position it calculates the relative positions of the other targets.
So if there is no own position the targets can still be shown on the map based on their absolute positions, but not relative to the own boat.

Johan
__________________

__________________
Verezano is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.