Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-06-2011, 12:04   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
ImageMagic recognition problem

My 'Chartconvert' AND 'GE2KAP' programs suddenly tells me they can no longer find the presence of 'ImageMagic' on my laptop in spite of the fact that it IS installed as D:/PROGRAM FILES/ImageMagick-6.7.0-8. (Is this the right version?)

Windows system variable contains the following:
D:\PROGRAM FILES\ImageMagick-6.7.0-8;D:\PROGRAM FILES\Ruby192\bin;D:\PROGRAM FILES\MC2BSBH;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;% SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Programfiler\Common Files\Ulead Systems\MPEG;C:\kap;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsP owerShell\v1.0;D:\PROGRAM FILES\LIBBSB\libbsb-0.0.7;D:\PROGRAM FILES\Chartconvert;D:\PROGRAM FILES\MAP2KAP;D:\PROGRAM FILES\ooRexx;D:\PROGRAM FILES\GnuWin32\bin;D:\PROGRAM FILES\Google\Google Earth;D:\PROGRAM FILES\GE2KAP\kapview.exe;C:\Wi

I have tried deleting and re-installing both ImageMagic as well as Chartconvert without any solution.

Suggestions ... anybody ??

Tore
__________________

__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 00:55   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Tore...
if you go to Start menu -> Run... and run cmd.exe and then type convert and hit Enter
What does it tell you?

Pavel
__________________

__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 03:48   #3
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

AFAIK this was a mistake in version 5.0 which is corrected in version 5.0.1 which is now available.
BTW: ImageMagick is now no longer needed.

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 05:15   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Pavel..

Running 'convert' from any directory lists all the ImageMagic commands.
Moving to the Chartconvert directory,it also executes here but Chartconvert
does not find ImageMagic files?? Very strange..

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_01 Jun. 20 08.05.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	84.2 KB
ID:	28769   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_02 Jun. 20 08.06.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	116.0 KB
ID:	28770  

__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 05:47   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Strange it is... I don't have this tool, so I can only guess what else you could check.
* Aren't you running Chartconvert as a different user with different PATH settings? (If you don't know what I'm talking about, you perhaps aren't )
* Isn't it expecting a particular ImageMagick version?
* Did you restart your computer since you modified the PATH so that the setting propagated to the whole system?

Out of other ideas for now

Pavel
__________________
nohal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 06:27   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Pavel..
Strange indeed as it also affects the previous version of GE2KAP which also depended on ImageMagic. I have used Chartconvert extensively and made no changes. I even re-installed it. Seems like my laptop has lost the ability to see the system variables.

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 07:54   #7
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Tore ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Running 'convert' from any directory lists all the ImageMagic commands.
Moving to the Chartconvert directory,it also executes here but Chartconvert
does not find ImageMagic files?? Very strange..
The first shows that your Path variable is OK.
If Chartconvert does a lookup in the registry to see if ImageMagick is installed, maybe your registry entry is "corrupted"?
Have a look at: HKLM\Software\ImageMagick (if you installed it for all users)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Pavel..
Strange indeed as it also affects the previous version of GE2KAP which also depended on ImageMagic. I have used Chartconvert extensively and made no changes. I even re-installed it.
Have you also tried to re-install ImageMagick?

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 08:01   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Gunther..

Yes,I have also re-installed ImageMagic.
I have also moved Chartconvert to the beginning of the system variables list.

Not sure what you mean by HKLM\Software\ImageMagick

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 08:04   #9
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Tore ...

and how about the registry entry?
Have you found anything?

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 08:18   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Gunther..

Here is my present system variables list:

D:\PROGRAM FILES\ImageMagick-6.7.0-Q16;D:\PROGRAM FILES\ImageMagick-6.7.0-8;D:\PROGRAM FILES\Chartconvert;D:\PROGRAM FILES\GE2KAP;D:\PROGRAM FILES\Ruby192\bin;D:\PROGRAM FILES\MC2BSBH;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;% SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Programfiler\Common Files\Ulead Systems\MPEG;C:\kap;%SYSTEMROOT%\System32\WindowsP owerShell\v1.0;D:\PROGRAM FILES\LIBBSB\libbsb-0.0.7;D:\PROGRAM FILES\MAP2KAP;D:\PROGRAM FILES\ooRexx;D:\PROGRAM FILES\GnuWin32\bin;D:\PROGRAM FILES\Google\Google Earth;D:\PROGRAM FILES\GE2KAP\kapview.exe;C:\Windows\QTSystem\

How do I check the registry entry?

Tore
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 08:51   #11
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Tore ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
How do I check the registry entry?
Not sure what Windows version you are running but try ...
Start menu -> Run... and run regedit

Quote:
Not sure what you mean by HKLM\Software\ImageMagick
If you are in the Registry-Editor (regedit) the root element should be 'Computer'. Under this there are about 5 elements whereas one is 'HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE' short form is HKLM.

And so on ..., open folder 'SOFTWARE' and have a look if there is a folder 'ImageMagick'. Normally there should be 2 subfolders - one called 'Current' and one '6.7.0'. The latter has another subfolder named 'Q:8'. In all of these folders there has to be a key called 'BinPath'. The value of this key is the path that you should have in Path variable.
Make sure that you really have ImageMagick installed in this path and that it is also correct in your Path variable.

Which Binary release have you installed - the windows-static.exe or windows-dll.exe one?

Gunther
__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 09:32   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
sinbad7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ubatuba,SP,Brazil (Ex Norway)
Boat: (Ex) Alu. 60' yacht-"Eight Bells"
Posts: 2,717
Images: 57
Send a message via Skype™ to sinbad7
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Gunther..

He he... this is Greek to me,but here is a screendump of what I found.
Hope you can make something out of it.

Tore
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_03 Jun. 20 12.29.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	99.1 KB
ID:	28781  
__________________
"And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by."
sinbad7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-06-2011, 09:39   #13
Registered User
 
Netsurfer's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cologne, Germany
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 331
Posts: 557
Re: ImageMagic recognition problem

Tore ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
Here is my present system variables list:

D:\PROGRAM FILES\ImageMagick-6.7.0-Q16;D:\PROGRAM FILES\ImageMagick-6.7.0-8;
Remove the second and unneeded entry 'D:\PROGRAM FILES\ImageMagick-6.7.0-8'

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinbad7 View Post
He he... this is Greek to me,but here is a screendump of what I found.
Hope you can make something out of it.
Yes, very helpful.
Make a right-click on the '6.6.3' folder and delete it.

After you have done the two things reboot your system (to be on the safe side) and try again Chartconverter & Co.

Gunther
__________________

__________________
Deutschsprachige Community- und Support-Website unter OpenCPN.de
Netsurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery-Charging Regulator Problem ? MasterVolt Problem ? RJV Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 18 06-11-2011 23:53
Crew Available: I Have a Problem . . . Denvermike66 Crew Archives 45 30-08-2010 07:39
A Gnaty Problem Dave the Canuck Great Lakes 23 02-08-2008 04:17
Could this be the problem? zackc Engines and Propulsion Systems 9 08-02-2008 19:20
Serious problem bottleinamessage Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 19 26-08-2007 11:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.