Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-11-2017, 05:55   #16
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,334
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Why not pick it up from a wifi router?

All my onboard toys do: 1 tablet, 1 smartphone (both Android, different versions), 3 Windows machines (XP, 10H, 10P). No hiccups.

I use a cheap nmea wifi router I built onboard for 10 bucks.

Cheers,
b.
__________________

barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 08:50   #17
Registered User
 
pdxsailordiver's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland,OR (W7TPH)
Boat: Cascade 42 Maria Victoria
Posts: 220
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
Why not pick it up from a wifi router?

All my onboard toys do: 1 tablet, 1 smartphone (both Android, different versions), 3 Windows machines (XP, 10H, 10P). No hiccups.

I use a cheap nmea wifi router I built onboard for 10 bucks.

Cheers,
b.
Barnakiel
Would you please share what you used to build the system on your boat.
Thanks
__________________

pdxsailordiver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 14:33   #18
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,334
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdxsailordiver View Post
Barnakiel
Would you please share what you used to build the system on your boat.
Thanks
You are a lazy bum with no Google access, eh? ;-)

But off course. No problem. The components listed below as per your wish.

Nmea wifi/ethernet router for the poor:

- a s/h wifi router, (2-5 EUR in any Cash Converter)
- a 232/usb converter cable (prolific or ftdi) (8-10 EUR any Dick Smith)

The router runs OpenWRT software and kplex does the serial to wifi conversion.

The USB/232 cable is not required, if you like to solder.

If you do not, the router must have a USB slot.

Cheers,
b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 14:54   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Dear Gerard

I have seen this post and I have tried
Quote:
Geolocation tcp, https://bitbucket.org/petrsimon/geolocationtcp, together with the GNSS datainterface
as mentioned in my post without success.

Don't know how he got it to work. I can't.
fyrekrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 13:50   #20
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 10,877
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Fyrekrig
I don't believe you've fully described your process step by step. If you have one software program using the gps, it captures the gps. You must release it so opencpn can use it!

We know opencpn works when the nmea serial signals are available and the correct com port is properly configured by the user. It is all under your control!
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 19:02   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Re: GPS - Windows 10

rgleason

Thanks your reply.
Have now got it working with GeolocationTCP-r9 and Network settings in
OpenCPN accordingly. Wifi still on!
Still unable to get it working with serial Com3 settings.
Have Com3 working as you can see in enclosed screenshot (GnssDataInterface).Have closed GnssDataInterface and rebooted to be shure nothing is occupying Com3. Start OpenCPN with NEMEA Debug window. No data. Tried diffrent baud rate. Still no luck
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GNSS.png
Views:	38
Size:	218.2 KB
ID:	159742   Click image for larger version

Name:	OpenCPN.png
Views:	40
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	159743  

fyrekrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 11:23   #22
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 10,877
Re: GPS - Windows 10

This is helping us understand. The screenshots and description. Use complete, clear sentences please.
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 11:30   #23
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 10,877
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Can you set the baud rate to 4800 and try that? That is the normal baud rate for gps.

Also good you closed the gnss program and check it is free.

Have you tried looking in your windows system devices list to find the com port, but when gnss program is on and when it is off?

Send a screenshot of both those conditions please if possible.

After we know those conditions we might have a suggestion.
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2017, 18:51   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Thanks for helping out. Sorry if my previous post was not clear enough.

Quote:
Can you set the baud rate to 4800 and try that? That is the normal baud rate for gps
Tried that. Do not work. Using com0com Com 3 baud rate is emulated
Can not set to fixed value. See enclosed screenshot.


Quote:
Have you tried looking in your windows system devices list to find the com port, but when gnss program is on and when it is off?
No changes in Com3 properties if GNSS is on or off. See enclosed screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	108.6 KB
ID:	159821   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	116.8 KB
ID:	159822  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	149.0 KB
ID:	159823  
fyrekrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 00:33   #25
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 10,877
Re: GPS - Windows 10

I am puzzled by this.
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 00:53   #26
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 10,877
Re: GPS - Windows 10

There is no change in the com3 port when the gnss program is on or off. Puzzles me.

This gnss program you are using comes from what manufacturer? Please post the website if it is available.

It does not look at all like the one we reference in the User Manual.

On this page
https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...rted:gps_setup

to this link

Http:// opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/doku.php?id=opencpn:supplementary_software:win8_gn ss_sensor

It appears that the gps device is in serial mode and out puting nmea gps sentence data on serial port com3.

In opencpn, connections window, can you please uncheck checksum and see if the opencpn data window is streaming any data.
Try it several ways please.

Also if the darn gps really is going at 57,600 baud (I don't believe this for a minute) then I don't want to give you the impression that opencpn connections will not handle this speed, it will. I just doubt that the gps is really properly operating at 56,700 baud. I've not seen one work at that rate. Can you slow it down to 4800 baud throught settings and then put it back into serial mode? Read the gps manuals and software instructions!
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 01:01   #27
Moderator
 
weavis's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: SEVILLE - MALLORCA
Posts: 10,978
Send a message via Skype™ to weavis
Re: GPS - Windows 10

DO you have the correct driver for your Broadcom?
__________________
- Never test how deep the water is with both feet -
10% of conflicts are due to different opinions. 90% by the tone of voice.
Raise your words, not your voice. It is rain that grows flowers, not thunder.
weavis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 01:21   #28
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 10,877
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Fyreking,
Exactly which broadcom sensor is it? Model numbers and website link please. Also as weavis suggests have you updated the driver for the gps?
Additionally, is it an integrated with your computer? Also how old is your computer?

Does the manufacturer provide software to control the settings for the sensor?

Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the driver?
rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2017, 18:09   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Quote:
This gnss program you are using comes from what manufacturer? Please post the website if it is available.
I am not sure what programs you are referring to.

If it is GNNSS sensor it is Broadcom 4752

If it is GnssDataInterface here is the link

http://support.black-it.eu/en/produc...e/download.htm

Quote:
In opencpn, connections window, can you please uncheck checksum and see if the opencpn data window is streaming any data.
Try it several ways please.
Do you mean NMEA Debug window? If it is another data window, can't find any?

No data. See screenshot

Quote:
Also if the darn gps really is going at 57,600 baud
GPSGate says

Quote:
The baudrate of the virtual ports uses the baudrate your application uses automatically.
If you connect at 4800 baud to the virtual port, you get the data at 4800 baud.
Quote:
DO you have the correct driver for your Broadcom?
Have looked for more recent drivers without luck
but this one works with other programs i.e Google Maps, Bing Maps etc

See screenshots

Quote:
Exactly which broadcom sensor is it? Model numbers
See screenshot

Quote:
Additionally, is it an integrated with your computer?
The computer is an ASUS T200TA and the sensor is integrated. About 2 years old.

Quote:
Does the manufacturer provide software to control the settings for the sensor?
As far as I know there is no utilty to change any settings on the sensor

Quote:
Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the driver?
Don't think unistalling and installing the driver will change anything as it is working properly. Did it anyway. No change

As the Braodcom sensor with present driver is receiving GPS data the issue has to be with OpenCPN not wanting to work with virtual com ports.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	05.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	159872   Click image for larger version

Name:	06.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	159873  

Click image for larger version

Name:	07.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	26.9 KB
ID:	159874   Click image for larger version

Name:	09.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	76.7 KB
ID:	159875  

Click image for larger version

Name:	10.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	147.5 KB
ID:	159876  
fyrekrig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2017, 22:44   #30
Registered User
 
rgleason's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1981 Bristol 32 Sloop
Posts: 10,877
Re: GPS - Windows 10

Fyreking, we have many examples of opencpn working with virtual ports for GPS, so the problem definitely is not opencpn.

Your documentation is good, do you have patience to try some more?

It is completely within the user control, and since the sensor is only 2 years old we should be able to get it to work, but there is another example of an older broadcom that just would not work with win10 and the answer was to get a puck gps.

If you have the time, would you please try the gnns program, that I linked to in the User Manual, without using your gnnsdatainterface program (cant be active) or gpsgate.
1. Reboot with the little stub gnns program I linked to earlier in the thread. Follow the instuctions.
2. Then find which COM port is being used in windows by going to config -system-devices and look under com ports. Hopefully you will see the sensor and com port number.
3. The go to opencpn options connections uncheck all connections, then add a new serial connection, usually when you go to the comm port selection the correct one will automatically appear, if there is a serial nema data stream available.

Try this several times in different ways, rebooting, to make sure you've got it correct. It should start working

I am describing from memory here, so please review the manual gps section and the short tutorial for starting up with opencpn by Terry yachtvalhalla.

Please post as you have been, so we can help further.

Thanks
__________________

rgleason is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 4 stable and Windows Beta svzephyr44 OpenCPN 0 29-09-2015 10:46
Windows 7 (64bit) and BU 353 GPS captmikecoin OpenCPN 10 25-12-2012 06:53
Loss of GPS signal/ COM port on Windows (7) Netsurfer OpenCPN 2 27-06-2011 07:44
GPS Problems with Windows 7 nostramo.moody OpenCPN 58 09-12-2010 09:30
Raytech RNS and Windows 7 and Windows XP kene66 Marine Electronics 2 23-02-2010 14:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.