Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2017, 01:47   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harlingen, NL
Boat: KMY Stadtship 56
Posts: 205
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

As I wrote earlier, I can confirm that the NOS (Navico Operating System) plotters such as Zeus, NSS, HDS, etc. will put out a very good NMEA0183 stream over TCP on port 10110.

Here is a small excerpt from data coming out of my plotter:
Code:
$GPGLC,9960,,,,,,,,,,,,*75
$GPGLL,5303.1482,N,00523.7212,E,073017,A,A*4D
!AIVDM,1,1,7,,13aDr:OP00PHi<8NK?8f4?vP2000,0*1E
$SDHDG,85.5,,,1.2,E*0E
$GPGSA,A,2,08,13,15,18,28,30,,,,,,,,1.60,*0A
$GPGSV,3,1,10,05,27,194,,08,09,022,44,13,86,274,38,15,47,292,41*7A
$GPGSV,3,2,10,18,11,323,32,20,44,253,,21,08,300,,24,12,252,*7D
$GPGSV,3,3,10,28,55,088,41,30,37,070,39*7D
$GPRMC,073017,A,5303.1482,N,00523.7212,E,0.0,0.0,130517,1.2,E,A*13
$GPVTG,0.0,T,358.8,M,0.0,N,0.0,K,A*25
$GPZDA,073017,13,05,2017,-02,00*66
!AIVDM,1,1,8,,13aB:FpP0;PHQspN@ieb1wvR2000,0*63
$GPAAM,,,,N,*38
$SDHDG,85.5,,,1.2,E*0E
!AIVDM,1,1,9,,13aEQuOP00PHfrJNFnr00?vR2000,0*08
$GPAPB,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,N*26
$SDHDG,85.5,,,1.2,E*0E
!AIVDM,1,1,0,,H3aDBLDT0000000@2kqkk01H1210,0*04
$GPBOD,,T,,M,,*47
!AIVDM,1,1,1,,H39bHjTU000000047kolq00h6220,0*11
$SDHDG,85.5,,,1.2,E*0E
!AIVDM,1,1,2,,13aGv@OP00PJ8;VNDun00?vR2000,0*1F
!AIVDM,1,1,3,,13buf400000HrH`NKIUUgA<T0000,0*33
$SDHDG,85.5,,,1.2,E*0E
!AIVDM,1,1,4,,13P7gM00000Hk7NNKQ?;H:VT0000,0*56
$GPRMB,,,,,,,,,,,,,,N*04
!AIVDM,1,1,5,,13M@QSW0000HjDHNKO73N:dR0000,0*2A
$SDHDG,85.5,,,1.2,E*0E
$GPXTE,,,,,N,N*5E
$SDDBT,7.6,f,2.3,M,1.2,F*05
$SDDPT,2.3,0.5,*7F
$SDMTW,,C*1A
It actually makes this all up from my N2K sensors, so that's quite impressive, and includes all sensor data including AIS.

See the attached screenshot for that data arriving in OpenCPN.

My guess is that you've either not set up O's data connections or that the plotter and your PC are not on the same network. You can add the plotter IP address in O just fine even if it completely unreachable, but it won't work, obviously.

So check:
- Are both computers (a plotter is a computer, yes) on the same network (subnet)?
- Can you ping the plotter from your computer?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 23.46.02.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	269.6 KB
ID:	147685  
__________________

__________________
merrimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 09:46   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New England
Boat: lagoon 380 s2
Posts: 493
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

merrimac, thanks.

I can ping the plotter from my computer. I am connected, it says 'connected with no internet access'. but when i open the debug window, no data is there. i mentioned the boat is not moving, but i would still expect to see data. Is there something I need to do on the plotter side to enable output? see screen shots attached. I included one of the plotter's nmea option.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	282.6 KB
ID:	147781   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170513_155708.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	414.7 KB
ID:	147782  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20170513_155726.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	410.1 KB
ID:	147783   Click image for larger version

Name:	20170513_155901.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	408.8 KB
ID:	147784  

__________________

__________________
jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 09:49   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harlingen, NL
Boat: KMY Stadtship 56
Posts: 205
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

There's nothing to do on the plotter.

Have you tried disabling the Windows Firewall?
__________________
merrimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 10:04   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

I don't think you're supposed to set the OpenCPN settings to the same IP address of the plotter hub, that's a conflict. i suggest picking anything else. Here's my working OpenCPN settings:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GoFreeSettings.JPG
Views:	42
Size:	104.3 KB
ID:	147789  
__________________
Whomda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 10:17   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harlingen, NL
Boat: KMY Stadtship 56
Posts: 205
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whomda View Post
I don't think you're supposed to set the OpenCPN settings to the same IP address of the plotter hub, that's a conflict.
Huh? The Zeus builtin WiFi will give the Windows computer an IP address on the 192.168.0 subnet, using DHCP. The TCP connection details in the connections list *must* give the IP address of the plotter and port (192.168.0.1 and 10110, in jbinbi's case...)
__________________
merrimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 10:34   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by merrimac View Post
Huh? The Zeus builtin WiFi will give the Windows computer an IP address on the 192.168.0 subnet, using DHCP. The TCP connection details in the connections list *must* give the IP address of the plotter and port (192.168.0.1 and 10110, in jbinbi's case...)
Hmm, that's not how it worked on mine. I used a hard coded IP address (93) on the same subnet and did not trust DHCP to allocate one. You're saying the OpenCPN settings are supposed to use the IP address of the plotter and not the allocated IP address of the laptop?

I will check with ipconfig when back on the boat what is the wireless setting allocated to the laptop, and the hub setting for the GoFree.

Jibni, can you also publish a screenshot of the ip address of the laptop wireless connection? Right click Wireless Icon -> Open network and Sharing -> click Wifi Connection -> Details to see the gateway and IP address.
__________________
Whomda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 10:42   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

Oh, but I see you can already ping the plotter. I may have been mistaken trying to debug your IP settings.

You do have the "filter NMEA course and speed data" setting checked, which would filter a number of messages. What data are you trying to get from the plotter? Just GPS and AIS?
__________________
Whomda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 11:20   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Harlingen, NL
Boat: KMY Stadtship 56
Posts: 205
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whomda View Post
Hmm, that's not how it worked on mine. I used a hard coded IP address (93) on the same subnet and did not trust DHCP to allocate one.
And which device had that IP address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whomda View Post
You're saying the OpenCPN settings are supposed to use the IP address of the plotter and not the allocated IP address of the laptop?
Yes. Assuming with "OpenCPN settings" you mean "data connections" in TCP mode.
__________________
merrimac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2017, 11:34   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Channel Islands, CA
Boat: Lagoon 400 S2
Posts: 89
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

Quote:
Originally Posted by merrimac View Post
And which device had that IP address?
I can't get back to the boat for a while, but I can believe that you are correct that I have set my GoFree address to a specific address not ending in .1, and OpenCPN is matching that. My settings for my GoFree app on android back this up.

I believe I did that in case it was ever on a subnet with an actual gateway/modem/router, which is almost always 192.168.0.1 (or 1.1), to avoid conflicts. I can't confirm for sure what IP address is used by the laptop wireless until I reconnect at the boat, but i generally avoid DHCP for connections like this and hard code an IP address.

Nevertheless, sounds like I threw a red herring out there about IP addresses, my apologies. Unless jbinbi happens to have a router on the same subnet and there actually is a conflict.
__________________
Whomda is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 20:34   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: East Coast, Canada
Boat: 15m Cat
Posts: 250
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

Did this ever get sorted out?

About to buy Zeus 3 and want to use Open CPN for plotting, radar and ais.

Thanks.
Paul.
__________________
svquintana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 07:58   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New England
Boat: lagoon 380 s2
Posts: 493
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

I am able to connect as in the past, but I have never been able to get data. Boat is not available to me for a while. Been very frustrated by this, a spring time project. Tried a few months ago with latest greatest of both OpenCPN AND B&G firmware upgrades.
__________________
jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 08:21   #27
Senior Cruiser
 
northwestsailor's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kenai, AK
Boat: Meta Dalu 47
Posts: 277
Images: 10
Send a message via AIM to northwestsailor Send a message via Skype™ to northwestsailor
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

I wired all N2K and 0183 data to come into my Zeus 2. From there a hard wire (Ethernet) goes to the Navico WIFI1 router. All my iPads (4) of various vintages and sizes including several iPhones and Mac computers are able to pick up this data from the Zeus 2 address plus 10110 Port. All devices point to the same address and Port number since the Zeus 2 is not creating is accepting any device to “listen” in on the broadcast and is not expecting any two way communication. The exception is with OpenCpn and the Navico radar which is sending short commands to the Zeus 2 to start/stop the radar transmitting, change ranges etc.
Make sense?
__________________
Victor Raymond
S/V Rajah Laut
1988 Meta Dalu 47

completion by Peter Smith
northwestsailor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 10:13   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: East Coast, Canada
Boat: 15m Cat
Posts: 250
Re: B&G wifi module interfacing to OPCPN

Yes, makes sense. Thanks.

I'm anxious to get started wiring this all up this winter.


Thanks again.
Paul.
__________________

__________________
svquintana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wifi

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OPCPN not outputing autopilot sentences StuartGunn OpenCPN 57 01-07-2016 18:18
For Sale: WiFi BaseStation Navico "GoFree"WiFi1 Module for Lowrance & Simrad - $160 michele.vivas Classifieds Archive 3 13-10-2015 08:58
Interfacing NMEA Data to Computer bobfnbw Marine Electronics 81 07-03-2012 09:46
Garmin / Raymarine Interfacing Enigma460 Navigation 3 20-06-2010 21:28
GPS Interfacing tonyappuk OpenCPN 29 04-05-2010 14:34



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.