Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-06-2012, 07:31   #16
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

George64...

It does not look like you are monitoring COM10 (autopilot).
If you did, you would see only RMC and RMB, as configuring in the config file. You would not see any other NMEA streams on the OpenCPN autopilot port. We do not echoe anything to Autopilot except RMB/RMC.

You must be looking at some multiplexed version of the NMEA input to O.

Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 08:14   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Dave....

Thanks for your reply. Could please help me on this one. I have one usb cable connected between a shipmodule multiplexer and my laptop. On the laptop, based on another post, I created with VSPE two com ports, the one you see in the log file.

Maybe this is beside Opencpn, however I would be very great full if you can help me solving this head breaking issue.

Thanks, George
__________________

__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 08:21   #18
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

George64...

What version of ShipModul do you have?
Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 08:27   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Dave,

I have two, one Sipmodule 2s and that one has de output 2 connected to the input of the Shipmodul WiFi. This one has one output connected to the autopilot and one the Clipper gps. Both versions of the shipmodul contain the latest software version.

George
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 08:38   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by George64 View Post
Dave....

Thanks for your reply. Could please help me on this one. I have one usb cable connected between a shipmodule multiplexer and my laptop. On the laptop, based on another post, I created with VSPE two com ports, the one you see in the log file.

Maybe this is beside Opencpn, however I would be very great full if you can help me solving this head breaking issue.

Thanks, George
I would acquire another USB serial device (or 2, one for monitoring) and stop trusting 'virtual' serial ports. OCPN works, it puts RMB, RMC out the AP port, I've witnessed it.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 08:50   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

@DotDun, thanks for your suggestion. Just for a check, USB2Serial-cable and connect that one to an available input port on the Shipmodul Wifi?

George
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 08:55   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,018
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

George...
Good idea - You should then be able to see the sentences getting to the MUX in MPXConfig (Don't forget to click the Capture button before making OpenCPN to send it).

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 09:10   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by George64 View Post
@DotDun, thanks for your suggestion. Just for a check, USB2Serial-cable and connect that one to an available input port on the Shipmodul Wifi?

George
I was suggesting it as a simple place to monitor OCPN and verify if it's actually sending data out it's AP port.

I haven't reviewed the rest of your configuration so I can't comment on it.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 09:33   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Ok, connected a usb2serial (Com 6) to the multiplexer and created a route and activated a waypoint. As you can see in the log file, the ports are opened:
Quote:
17:20:38: 2012-06-26
17:20:38: -------Starting opencpn-------
17:20:38: Version 3.0.0 Build 2012-06-03
17:20:38: MemoryStatus: mem_total: 8139 mb, mem_initial: 8 mb
17:20:38: SData_Locn is C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\
17:20:38: Using existing Config_File: C:\ProgramData\opencpn\opencpn.ini
17:20:38: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 50.7381, 0.6937
17:20:38: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 50.7917, 0.326
17:20:40: System default Language: nl_NL
17:20:40: Opencpn language set to: nl_NL
17:20:41: ChartSymbols loaded from C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\s57data\chartsymbols.xml
17:20:41: Using s57data in C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\s57data
17:20:41: Setting Viewpoint Lat/Lon 50.7381, 0.6937
17:20:41: Setting Ownship Lat/Lon 50.7917, 0.326
17:20:41: NMEA Data Source is....Serial:COM9
17:20:41: AIS Data Source is....None
17:20:41: Using WVSChart datafile: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\wvsdata\wvs43.dat
17:20:41: OpenPD: 372, new_count = 1 for COM9
17:20:41: NMEA AutoPilot Port is....Serial:COM6
17:20:41: OpenPD: 376, new_count = 1 for COM6
17:20:41: PlugInManager searching for PlugIns in location C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins
17:20:41: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/aisradar_pi18_v092_pi.dll
17:20:41: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/aisradar_pi18_v092_pi.dll Version detected: 108
17:20:41: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/dashboard_pi.dll
17:20:41: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/dashboard_pi.dll Version detected: 106
17:20:41: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/findit_pi.dll
17:20:41: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/findit_pi.dll Version detected: 106
17:20:41: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/grib_pi.dll
17:20:41: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/grib_pi.dll Version detected: 107
17:20:41: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/logbookkonni_pi.dll
17:20:41: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/logbookkonni_pi.dll Version detected: 106
17:20:42: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/ocpndebugger_win32_pi18_v01_pi.dll
17:20:42: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/ocpndebugger_win32_pi18_v01_pi.dll Version detected: 108
17:20:42: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/vdr_win32_pi16_v03_pi.dll
17:20:42: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/vdr_win32_pi16_v03_pi.dll Version detected: 106
17:20:42: PlugInManager: Loading PlugIn: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/wmm_win32_pi18_v06_pi.dll
17:20:42: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN 3.0.0\plugins/wmm_win32_pi18_v06_pi.dll Version detected: 108
17:20:42: Warning: WMM model data file C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenCPN/plugins/WMM.COF can't be loaded, using the bundled data.
17:20:42: ChartDB Cache policy: Application target is 4069 MBytes
17:20:42: Loading chart db version: V016
17:20:42: Chartdb: Chart directory list follows
17:20:42: Chart directory #0: C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93
17:20:42: GPS Watchdog Timeout is: 6 sec.
17:20:42: Initializing Chart C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93\00300000\A\00300000 .A
17:20:42: CM93Composite Chart Root is C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93\
17:20:42: Loaded CM93 Dictionary from C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93\
17:20:42: Loading CM93 cell C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93\03900000/D/04200000.D
17:20:42: Loading CM93 cell C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93\03900000/D/04200003.D
17:21:06: Loading CM93 cell C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93\03901020/D/04201077.D
17:21:06: Loading CM93 cell C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93\03901020/C/04141068.C
17:21:06: Loading CM93 cell C:\Users\Gregor\Documents\CM93\03900000/C/04140000.C
Looking at the NMEA debugger from Opencpn, I see:
Quote:
$IIZTG,,,*65
$GPVTG,,T,140,M,0.0,N,0.0,K*7B
$GPZDA,152825,26,06,2012,-2,0*6D
$HCHDG,211.00,,,,*70
$IIAPB,A,A,,,N,,,,M,,,M,,,A*70
$IIDPT,3.4,-1.4,100.0*6C
$GPRMC,152825,A,5047.5086,N,00019.5502,E,0.0,138,2 60612,2,W*63
$GPZDA,152836,26,06,2012,-2,0*6F
$HCHDG,210.00,,,,*71
$IIMWV,24.1,R,7.6,N,A*0B
$IIRMB,A,,,,,,,,,,,,V,A*0B
$HCHDG,211.00,,,,*70
$IIDBT,11.5,f,3.5,M,1.9,F*2A
$PSMDOV,2
$IIVLW,1786.518,N,534.531,N*7C
$HCHDG,209.00,,,,*79
Does this output look as you would expect in case af a active routepoint. IMO I 'd expect a IIRMB sentence with the coordinates of the first waypoint.

George
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 09:51   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Is there a way to eliminate the multiplexer and monitor COM6 directly? (via another comport and software?)
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 10:30   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 298
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
Is there a way to eliminate the multiplexer and monitor COM6 directly? (via another comport and software?)
Probably, just discovered that hyperterminal is no long available in Windows 7
__________________
George64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 10:44   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Download Actisense NMEA Reader - it's free.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 10:56   #28
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Folks...

The NMEA monitor window in O only shows the input stream. It does not echo the autopilot output stream.


Dave
__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 11:02   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,431
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by bdbcat View Post
Folks...

The NMEA monitor window in O only shows the input stream. It does not echo the autopilot output stream.


Dave
I think he is expecting the multiplexer to echo it back on the gps port of OCPN. I want him to eliminate the multiplexer and see if OCPN is working.
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2012, 11:08   #30
Marine Service Provider
 
bdbcat's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,884
Re: Autopilot output device open failed

dotdun....

Yep, simplify first. I have not waded through the documentation on the Shipmodul mux. It might be possible with one wire to the PC.

Occam's razor applies.

Dave
__________________

__________________
bdbcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.