Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-04-2012, 22:10   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 658
Why would I want a dedicated AIS display?

Why would I want to have a dedicated AIS display like say the Vesper Watchmate as having the AIS overlayed on the plotter is good enough isn't it?
Otherwise its yet another seperate screen to look at. I can imagine that its nicer to have it seperate but then you have to find space for it etc etc.

I see some nice things like the DSC calling but I can get that from a VHF radio such as the GX2100 Standard Horizon with built in AIS.

comments welcome
__________________

Fuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 22:28   #2
CF Adviser
 
Bash's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sausalito
Boat: 14 meter sloop
Posts: 7,260
Re: Why would I want a dedicated AIS display?

I'd rather have an overlay any day, especially if the charter and radar are also overlayed. That way you can tell instantly whether the radar target you're seeing is also the vessel transmitting on AIS.

While a dedicated display might reduce clutter on the plotter when not offshore, it also is going to consume more amperage and take up valuable space.

Finally, with an overlay system, AIS signals show up both at my helm and in the nav station. I'd need two dedicated displays to replicate that.
__________________

__________________
cruising is entirely about showing up--in boat shoes.
Bash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 23:04   #3
Moderator
 
noelex 77's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Boat: Bestevaer.
Posts: 11,752
Re: Why would I want a dedicated AIS display?

The big advantage is the power draw is much less than running the plotter, but with most units you can overlay as well.
A dedicated unit also allows people with an older chart plotter to have an AIS display and provides a back up.
If something goes wrong with the plotter you loose radar as well, so sill having an AIS display can be especially helpful.
noelex 77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2012, 06:56   #4
Registered User
 
ka4wja's Avatar

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 2,299
Re: Why would I want a dedicated AIS display?

Fuss,
Bash and Nolex have given you the direct answers....

And, since I've been using a dedicated AIS receiver for about 6 years now (a SiTex / Nasa Marine "AIS Radar" unit), and I've got a new Vesper WatchMate that I'm installing in a couple weeks, along with a new AIS transponder, perhaps I can amplify things a bit, with a summary....

Have a look at my Nav Station to see my set-up....
Nav Station


a) When sailing offshore most of us (including myself) do NOT use a chartplotter, and many do NOT use radar unless in fog/heavy rain.....
So, if desiring AIS reception (or a transponder), the Vesper WatchMate is a fine choice.....

b) Low power consumption is the key thing here.....you can run a dedicated monochrome AIS display (with receiver or transponder) all day (24 hours) with about the same power that you'd use in just an hour or two of running a chartplotter......

c) There are many, many boats sailing the world without chartplotters at all, and/or with older chartplotters/radar units which cannot be configured for/used as an AIS display.....
(Even the original Raymarine E-series displays needed a new software version to be used as an AIS display.....)


Fuss, I do hope this helps explain things....

Fair winds...

John
s/v Annie Annie
ka4wja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2012, 07:31   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,090
Images: 12
Re: Why would I want a dedicated AIS display?

If you are using the SH GX2100, it is a standalone AIS unit with a built-in AIS display on it and full data information, CPA, TCPA, etc for all targets.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.