Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2019, 07:40   #1

Boat: Sabre 402 - 40'
Replacing my Bullet M2 to bring Wi-Fi in the boat?

Hi All,
I have been using a Ubiquiti Bullet Titanium M2 for the past three years. It has worked well till recently. Every time we move the boat or restart the electronics, the unit resets itself to default settings.
I think it's on the fritz!
So I went back to Amazon to order another one. To my shock, they were not readily available and the cost was north of $250 (double what I paid) and it's been discontinued.

I ordered the newest version (BulletAC-IP67-US)only to find out it's only compatible with airOS systems. So I sent it back.

So the question is this - what do people like for alternatives?
I did look at the peplink products - They look good, pricey and probably lots of rewiring and configuration changes to make work. I like the idea of adding a cellular SIM when Wifi isn't available.
samoorelex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 07:53   #2

Boat: Hylas 54
Re: Replacing my Bullet M2 to bring Wi-Fi in the boat?

I'm still using my M2, but looking at the BulletAC as a future upgrade.

What was the problem with airOS? The worst part of the M2 is the clunky outdated UI.

Also, here's the older M2 in stock for $79

https://www.streakwave.com/itemdesc....S&eq=&Tp=&o1=0
jt11791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2019, 08:05   #3

Hi,
My unit keeps resetting to defaults - loosing my settings.