Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2012, 02:51   #1
Moderator
 
nigel1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 5,197
Raymarne E80 Chartplotter problem

Chart plotter just developed a fault.
Symptoms
About every 5 minutes the plotter flicks off and then restarts, and resets to factory default settings.
Most of my routes have gone, but the waypoints are still in place.
Will not "follow route", and if I try a "reverse and follow route", the following message is displayed: "Selected route cannot be modified at this time".

I think the chart plotter will need to be returned to Raymarine for a fix, but just in case, thought I'd post here in the event that some one else knows of this fault, and what the likely fix is.

Cheers
__________________

__________________
Nigel
Beneteau 473
Manchester, UK
nigel1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 04:53   #2
Registered User
 
dirkdig's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Geelong,Australia
Boat: Lagoon 440 Pathfinder
Posts: 838
I have heard this may be a low voltage issue.
I have the same problem with the E 80 on my flybridge.
__________________

__________________
dirkdig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 05:12   #3
Moderator
 
nigel1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 5,197
Re: Raymarne E80 Chartplotter problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by dirkdig View Post
I have heard this may be a low voltage issue.
I have the same problem with the E 80 on my flybridge.

Thanks, but just checked the voltage at the units plug, and getting 13V, (same as main batteries are indicating on float charge)
__________________
Nigel
Beneteau 473
Manchester, UK
nigel1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 07:12   #4
Registered User
 
jeremiason's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Punta Gorda, Florida
Boat: Sea Ray 270
Posts: 1,427
Images: 2
Send a message via ICQ to jeremiason Send a message via Yahoo to jeremiason Send a message via Skype™ to jeremiason
Re: Raymarne E80 Chartplotter problem

Nigel

The Raymarine Tech Support has been much more responsive since the corporate merger of FLIR and RAYMARINE...

You might want to post your question their... Last month I worked a problem with a buddy boat on his E-120 and was suprised to have email answers back from their Tech Support in less than a hour...

I also would not dismiss the voltage issue that easily... Yes, you maybe getting proper voltage when you measured the power line, but was it in similar conditions (Power Draws) as when the event happened.

Also have you added any electric components to you systems recently, like AIS or weather that might have changed voltage requirements?

Finally, are you using the most up to date verision of software (Ver 5.69 July 2012)
__________________
Tom Jeremiason
Punta Gorda, Florida

jeremiason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 07:29   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 793
Do you have an autopilot, or other device that intermittently draws large amounts of power? Devices like that, coupled with undersized wiring and/or bad connections, can cause significant voltage drops when they operate. You might otherwise have good voltage until such a device kicks on.
__________________
twistedtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 07:39   #6
Registered User
 
LeaseOnLife's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: out cruising again
Boat: Sailboat
Posts: 1,047
Re: Raymarne E80 Chartplotter problem

Backup your waypoints and whatever is left to a CF:

Instructions:
http://www.raymarine.eu/support/index.cfm?view=3768

Try a factory reset, instructions, from the raymarine website:
  1. Press MFD's red power button to power OFF the MFD.
  2. Press and hold the first (Left Hand) softkey on the MFD. Keeping the softkey held down, press the red power button to power ON the MFD. This will perform a reset of the unit. Do not skip this step.
    The unit will notify you that the reset has completed after the count down by a beep. You can now release the softkey.


Later you can restore your waypoints from the CF

Try, maybe this helps...


Dirk

Edit: You will loose any special settings, maybe go thru the System Setup Menu and note your settings before doing this
__________________
LeaseOnLife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 08:57   #7
Moderator
 
nigel1's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 5,197
Re: Raymarne E80 Chartplotter problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeaseOnLife View Post
Backup your waypoints and whatever is left to a CF:

Instructions:
http://www.raymarine.eu/support/index.cfm?view=3768

Try a factory reset, instructions, from the raymarine website:
  1. Press MFD's red power button to power OFF the MFD.
  2. Press and hold the first (Left Hand) softkey on the MFD. Keeping the softkey held down, press the red power button to power ON the MFD. This will perform a reset of the unit. Do not skip this step.
    The unit will notify you that the reset has completed after the count down by a beep. You can now release the softkey.


Later you can restore your waypoints from the CF

Try, maybe this helps...


Dirk

Edit: You will loose any special settings, maybe go thru the System Setup Menu and note your settings before doing this
Dirk, you've earned yourself a few beers, the factory reset did the trick.
Never would have thought that such a simple solution would have sorted out the problem

Cheers
__________________
Nigel
Beneteau 473
Manchester, UK
nigel1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 19:50   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Re: Raymarne E80 Chartplotter problem

My E80 worked flawlessly for years. Recently, it started to reboot continuously. After $1400 and useless troubleshooting from Raymarine, it turned out to be a glitch in the Navonics card. There were files that were added unnecessarily on the last download that ended in "UGC". Delete these files and it will solve the problem.
__________________

__________________
revere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chartplotter

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.