Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-06-2011, 18:20   #1
Registered User
 
PetenSuz's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Boat: Catalina 42
Posts: 12
Raymarine ST60+ wind instrument problem

I have a set of Raymarine ST60+ instruments I bought new about 4 years ago. When the mast was restepped after a long overland transport, the wind instrument no longer worked. I had a marine electronics tech look at the boat a few days ago, and he told me the masthead transducers seemed to be ok, and connection at the mast base was ok. The display in the cockpit shows 0 kts alternating with three dashes. The wind direction needle does not move whatever the wind. It stays at 12 o'clock. He said he spoke to Raymarine tech support, and they suggested recalibrating the instrument. This doesn't make sense to me, because there is essentially NO reading.
Anyone have this problem or an idea of how to repair the system? I want to thoroughly investigate it before incurring the considerable expense of replacing the unit.
__________________

__________________
PetenSuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2011, 19:52   #2
Registered User
 
r.furborough's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Boat: Freedom 32 (Hoyt)
Posts: 223
Re: Raymarine ST60+ wind instrument problem

can we assume the connections on the back of the ST60 display were also checked!
__________________

__________________
------------------------------------------------
the memories of a man in his old age, are the dreams of a man in his prime
Pink Floyd - 'Free Four'
r.furborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2011, 20:14   #3
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine ST60+ wind instrument problem

I had the same problem yesterday and just re wired the connections properly, all leads go to the vane connectors, nothing to the rotor, and bingo all worked, before had the red and blue connected to the rotor, was giving a speed reading and always a wrong direction, try the connectors mate?
Keith
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2011, 20:18   #4
Registered User
 
PetenSuz's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Florida
Boat: Catalina 42
Posts: 12
Re: Raymarine ST60+ wind instrument problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by r.furborough View Post
can we assume the connections on the back of the ST60 display were also checked!
Unfortunately, I don't think so....I have the instruments in a Navpod housing, and I think the tech neglected to crack it to see if the connections were loose. Given the cost of service calls, I need to do it myself. This is of course an obvious next step. I'll update when it's done. Thanks
__________________
PetenSuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-06-2011, 20:29   #5
Registered User
 
surfmachine's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cruising the West coast of Sumatra and the offshore islands, surfing!!
Boat: Feltz Skorpion mark 11A, Aluminium 39' sloop, constructed Hamburg. http://photobucket.com/eloise_01
Posts: 674
Images: 9
Send a message via Skype™ to surfmachine
Re: Raymarine ST60+ wind instrument problem

ggod luck!
__________________
Keith, "But I was born very young and grew up knowing little of the world!" http://surfmachine-surfmachine.blogspot.com.au/
surfmachine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2011, 07:18   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Re: Raymarine ST60+ wind instrument problem

Here is a link on testing the ST50 / ST60 wind instrument:

Answer
__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2011, 08:18   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: West Coast Florida
Boat: Beneteau 411
Posts: 32
Can a wind vane be put on backwards. Recently pulled transducer and replaced wind vane. Now wind direction exactly opposite.
__________________
Benebobby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2011, 08:27   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado; Sailing Sea of Cortez
Boat: Tartan 33R
Posts: 174
Re: Raymarine ST60+ wind instrument problem

Yes. On the ST50 / ST60 raymarine units most have a flat side on the shaft. You can go into the calibration and set the direction to match where the vane is, so it should not be a problem.
__________________

__________________
Capn Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:52.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.