Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-03-2012, 07:34   #1
LJH
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Boat: Wauquiez Centurion 42
Posts: 274
Pactor Modem - Win7 Drivers

I am unable to successfully load the drivers for my PactorIIusb modem on my new ASUS laptop with Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64bit). They loaded on my older laptop with Vista. SCS says the driver is good and ASUS says it is not a 64 bit driver.... Has anyone else had a similar problem? Any suggestions?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
LJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2012, 02:14   #2
Registered User
 
bruce in oz's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nth Qld, Gulf of Carpentaria
Boat: 34ft Ganley Shadow, bilge keels
Posts: 93
Re: Pactor Modem - Win7 Drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by LJH View Post
I am unable to successfully load the drivers for my PactorIIusb modem on my new ASUS laptop with Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 (64bit). They loaded on my older laptop with Vista. SCS says the driver is good and ASUS says it is not a 64 bit driver.... Has anyone else had a similar problem? Any suggestions?

Thanks
ok i've just done this with a pactor ptc-11ex and an asus netbook win7 starter.

but the drivers were for the usb-serial chip not the modem, i'v got to admit its a bit of a stuff about, they dont work every time, but i've found unplugging & plugging fixes the anomaly.
Welcome to Prolific

the same page contains the drivers which also worked for my MacBook Air and OSX 10.7

i'm trying to get something to work with SCSMail or anything else which will let me send free email.
__________________

__________________
bruce in oz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2012, 07:02   #3
LJH
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Boat: Wauquiez Centurion 42
Posts: 274
Re: Pactor Modem - Win7 Drivers

Thanks Bruce,

Yes it is a bit of a pain. After 2 hours and 10 Blue Screens of Death I my computer now sees the modem as a device but I have to disconnect the GPS and AIS!

Sailmail is working now in the telnet, but the terminal programme is not controlling the radio frequency remotely.

More frustration to follow!
__________________
LJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2012, 11:15   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 584
Try running the software in win xp compatibility mode.
__________________
bazzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
modem, pactor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pactor 4 on an Icom 802 SVTwilight Marine Electronics 30 11-08-2014 01:50
For Sale: SCS PTC IIpro Modem - Pactor III installed Ostinato Classifieds Archive 4 24-03-2012 08:47
OpenCPN Window Minimizes in WIN7 ZING OpenCPN 3 01-03-2012 22:40
Want To Buy: Pactor 2/3 modem BirdoPassage Classifieds Archive 1 20-02-2012 19:32
Want To Buy: Pactor 3 Modem for ICOM 706 MKII BirdoPassage Classifieds Archive 1 31-01-2012 14:14



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.