Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2015, 05:55   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Home port is San Diego, California but currently cruising the East Coast of the USA.
Boat: Contest 48
Posts: 638
Images: 1
Missing Wind Data

We use a Simrad AP24 Autopilot with the Simrad AC42 Autopilot Computer, using SimNet to connect to our Garmin network via N2K. It works great - in the last 5 years we've covered almost 40,000 miles and it's steered 99% of the way. We primarily use the NAV function, where we create a route on our chart plotter and then instruct the autopilot to steer to that route. No problems whatsoever with that.

But one of the other features of the autopilot that we use from time to time is the Steer to Wind function and that has suddenly quit working. When we instruct the autopilot to Steer to the Wind, a dialog box appears on its screen that says: Missing Wind Data. Where could it be? The nav data is getting through, there are no toggles to turn on or off certain types of data and if one type of data (nav) is getting through, why would the system discriminate against another type? It all has to come across the N2K network and the wind data shows everywhere else on the network.

I know, I know, it's a sailboat and all of these electronics are frivolous and detract from the art of real sailing. Regardless, it's a feature that we'd like to have working and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Fair winds and calm seas.
__________________

__________________
nhschneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 06:58   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Missing Wind Data

Go into the AP24 setup menu and check the data sources to make sure the wind instrument is selected.

The sequence to get there is menu>user setup>sources.

If the wind instrument is already selected, try doing an automatic source selection again.

Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 02:10   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,701
Re: Missing Wind Data

there is a bunch of different simrad heads. don't know which one is which off hand. but some have the "intrs" button. that cycles though instraments. you should be able to see wind data all the time. not just when trying to activate the pilot. so a good place to good look. as posted above. each source needs to be manually selected ie take gps from com 1, take nav from com 1, take wind from com 2 etc. something could have gotten changed there.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 07:57   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Home port is San Diego, California but currently cruising the East Coast of the USA.
Boat: Contest 48
Posts: 638
Images: 1
Re: Missing Wind Data

Okay, well, that's embarrassing. All I had to do was RFM. That solved the problem.

Thanks, guys. Sheesh, I feel pretty stupid.
__________________
nhschneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2017, 15:44   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 201
Images: 1
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhschneider View Post
Okay, well, that's embarrassing. All I had to do was RFM. That solved the problem.

Thanks, guys. Sheesh, I feel pretty stupid.
This is an old thread, but can anyone tell me what "RFM" means (sorry for being thick-headed). I'm trying to find a way to get my AP24 to sail to the wind, but I cannot get it into the "sailboat" setting. It refuses to go there, apparently because I don't have a speed log attached (it seems to need speed to get out of the default setting, which is "outboard"). I cannot find a solution to this problem and Simrad tech support doesn't reply to questions (they were good about replying in past years, but times change...).

Thank you.
__________________
Lantau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 05:11   #6
Registered User
 
Fiveslide's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Boat: JBW club 420, MFG Bandit, Snark
Posts: 603
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lantau View Post
This is an old thread, but can anyone tell me what "RFM" means (sorry for being thick-headed). I'm trying to find a way to get my AP24 to sail to the wind, but I cannot get it into the "sailboat" setting. It refuses to go there, apparently because I don't have a speed log attached (it seems to need speed to get out of the default setting, which is "outboard"). I cannot find a solution to this problem and Simrad tech support doesn't reply to questions (they were good about replying in past years, but times change...).

Thank you.
Read the [expletive deleted] manual.
__________________
Fiveslide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 16:40   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 201
Images: 1
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiveslide View Post
Read the [expletive deleted] manual.
There are so many acronyms and abbreviations in all the manuals (at least fifty of them on my boat, including many by Simrad that use the same abbreviation for different things!).
__________________
Lantau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 16:52   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 201
Images: 1
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiveslide View Post
Read the [expletive deleted] manual.
Fiveslide: I followed your advice. I found the manual online and did a search of the whole document. A search turns up nothing, and there's no reference to RFM in the index or the list of glossary. There's no "RFM" in the manual that I can see.

Do you have a better suggestion? Do you really have knowledge of this autopilot that might be helpful?

I am guessing that "RF" refers to "rudder feedback" but I could be wrong. There's no reference to, say, "rudder feedback mechanism" in the manual. RFM could mean anything. This is why I asked for help...
__________________
Lantau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 20:01   #9
Registered User
 
Fiveslide's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Boat: JBW club 420, MFG Bandit, Snark
Posts: 603
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lantau View Post
Fiveslide: I followed your advice. I found the manual online and did a search of the whole document. A search turns up nothing, and there's no reference to RFM in the index or the list of glossary. There's no "RFM" in the manual that I can see.

Do you have a better suggestion? Do you really have knowledge of this autopilot that might be helpful?

I am guessing that "RF" refers to "rudder feedback" but I could be wrong. There's no reference to, say, "rudder feedback mechanism" in the manual. RFM could mean anything. This is why I asked for help...
I think RFM is an acronym for "read the [expletive deleted] manual" and actually has nothing to do with the operation of the autopilot. You asked what rfm was, I answered with my best guess. I do not have any knowledge of that autopilot, I'm sorry, I truly wish I could help.
__________________
Fiveslide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2017, 20:38   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 201
Images: 1
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fiveslide View Post
I think RFM is an acronym for "read the [expletive deleted] manual" and actually has nothing to do with the operation of the autopilot. You asked what rfm was, I answered with my best guess. I do not have any knowledge of that autopilot, I'm sorry, I truly wish I could help.
Ah, I see now. Yes, reading the manual is a good start. I spent countless hours at the manual for this autopilot during a recent five-week cruise. I learned quite a lot doing that, but I couldn't find a solution to my problem. It could be that I'm just thick (as suggested by not realizing what RFM meant!).
__________________
Lantau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2017, 05:32   #11
Registered User
 
Fiveslide's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Boat: JBW club 420, MFG Bandit, Snark
Posts: 603
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lantau View Post
It could be that I'm just thick (as suggested by not realizing what RFM meant!).
I had to google it the first time I saw it here. You are not alone.
__________________
Fiveslide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-08-2017, 05:41   #12
Registered User
 
AKA-None's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Lake City MN
Boat: C&C 27 Mk III
Posts: 155
Re: Missing Wind Data

Also called RTFM kindly translated as read the "fine" manual. Rhymes with ducking
__________________
Special knowledge can be a terrible disadvantage if it leads you too far along a path that you cannot explain anymore.
Frank Herbert 'Dune'
AKA-None is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 20:30   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Home port is San Diego, California but currently cruising the East Coast of the USA.
Boat: Contest 48
Posts: 638
Images: 1
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lantau View Post
This is an old thread, but can anyone tell me what "RFM" means (sorry for being thick-headed). I'm trying to find a way to get my AP24 to sail to the wind, but I cannot get it into the "sailboat" setting. It refuses to go there, apparently because I don't have a speed log attached (it seems to need speed to get out of the default setting, which is "outboard"). I cannot find a solution to this problem and Simrad tech support doesn't reply to questions (they were good about replying in past years, but times change...).

Thank you.
To get the 'sail to wind' function, the autopilot must be configured, in the installation programming, for a sailboat. You do not need a speed log but, obviously, you do need the data from a wind direction sensor and the autopilot must be programmed to accept that data.

Good luck, fair winds and calm seas.
__________________
nhschneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 22:01   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 201
Images: 1
Re: Missing Wind Data

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhschneider View Post
To get the 'sail to wind' function, the autopilot must be configured, in the installation programming, for a sailboat. You do not need a speed log but, obviously, you do need the data from a wind direction sensor and the autopilot must be programmed to accept that data.

Good luck, fair winds and calm seas.
Thanks for the ideas. After much research and feedback from others, I think the problem lies in rudder feedback. This autopilot requires that for "sailbaot" functions. My boat does have rudder feedback, so I need to find out why it's not being used fully by the autopilot. As for wind, I installed an all-new system which the autopilot recognizes just fine -- but cannot use because it's locked in the default boat-type setting.
__________________

__________________
Lantau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: DATA MARINE masthead wind transducer Dean Paul Classifieds Archive 2 14-10-2012 14:05
Missing Weather Data from WS-200 twistedtree Marine Electronics 0 11-09-2011 20:16
No GPS data even though data stream window ... Netsurfer OpenCPN 10 09-06-2011 05:41
Missing Engine Data Plate gbendaly Engines and Propulsion Systems 6 18-05-2009 08:39
florida wind data pete33458 Meets & Greets 3 19-05-2007 11:44



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.