Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-03-2016, 09:12   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 331
In-Hull transducer for depth.

Anyone experiences with In-Hull transducer?
I do not want to install a through Hull, any suggestion or option?
Thank you,
__________________

__________________
cpt_757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2016, 09:26   #2
Registered User
 
Kalinka1's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Boat: Heritage 35
Posts: 301
Re: In-Hull transducer for depth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpt_757 View Post
Anyone experiences with In-Hull transducer?
I do not want to install a through Hull, any suggestion or option?
Thank you,
No problem doing it. Put the transducer in a ziplock full of water. Put that where you want to finally have the transducer.turn on the sounder. If you get a reading your good to epoxie it in. Just make sure there are no air bubbles in the epoxie. I used the transducer covered in oil as a mold and made a pocket for it just foreward of the keel on the centre line of the boat. Once the epoxie hardened I could remove the transducer if needed. works a treat and I have a depth range down to 600 feet.
__________________

__________________
Kalinka1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2016, 10:51   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 38
Re: In-Hull transducer for depth.

Silicone caulk or wax (as in toilet wax rings) can also work in place of the epoxy.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Davidasailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2016, 11:03   #4
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 17,045
Re: In-Hull transducer for depth.

I used this one,
Garmin P79 6 Pin Plastic Adjustable Shoot Thru-hull Transducer
Says Garmin, but it is really Airmar and can be had with different wires for different sounders, mine is a Zeus, so I orderd one to fit B&G.
I installed with 5200, but silicone will work. I used straight anti-freeze to fill it, but have heard mineral oil works too.
Connected to my Zeus I now have both a back up depth finder, and a real dual frequency bottom machine.
__________________
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2016, 11:44   #5
cruiser

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Charleston, SC
Boat: Camano Troll
Posts: 4,669
Re: In-Hull transducer for depth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
I used this one,
Garmin P79 6 Pin Plastic Adjustable Shoot Thru-hull Transducer
Says Garmin, but it is really Airmar and can be had with different wires for different sounders, mine is a Zeus, so I orderd one to fit B&G.
I installed with 5200, but silicone will work. I used straight anti-freeze to fill it, but have heard mineral oil works too.
Connected to my Zeus I now have both a back up depth finder, and a real dual frequency bottom machine.
I used the same thing and it works fine. RV antifreeze is probably the best liquid to use. Water will work in a pinch as long as it doesn't freeze.
__________________
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2016, 12:03   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cape Coral FL
Boat: Irwin, 32ft
Posts: 4
Images: 7
Re: In-Hull transducer for depth.

I mounted my through hull transducer in a PVC coupler that I epoxied to the hull. Cut a slot for the wire, fill with mineral oil, screw PVC cap on and its been working for 3yrs.
__________________
32irwinSWFl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2016, 15:12   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: In-Hull transducer for depth.

We have one. We used plain plastic thru hull into a pvc tube epoxied to the hull and filled with oil (the tube, not sensor). It works OK and the range is about 10% less than by the specs of the sensor.

This is said not to work with cored hulls. Ours is solid grp.

Ray.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth, hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to mount depth transducer on steel hull Orchidius Marine Electronics 9 30-12-2014 22:20
Before you toss out your thru-hull depth transducerdepth transducer... phorvati Marine Electronics 2 19-07-2012 08:47
Replace depth transducer cored hull - r&r thru with in hull? rpeebles Marine Electronics 5 11-04-2012 12:58
Through Hull Speed/Depth Transducer - How Do You Clean? Cruisin Cat Marine Electronics 11 06-04-2012 15:43
removing a Depth Sounder Thru Hull Transducer chuck711 Construction, Maintenance & Refit 14 19-02-2007 16:29



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.