Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-11-2018, 11:51   #1
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 22,887
Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

I installed an external antenna some time ago for better GPS reception, of course now the antenna location is my stern and not the center of the boat anymore where the WatchMate is.
It is an issue now when using the anchor watch as of course the anchor isnít where the WatchMate is told it is.
I canít figure out where and how to edit it, does anyone know how, s in what menu either on the WatchMate vision itself or the app?
__________________

a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 12:13   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
ronstory's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Portland, OR USA
Boat: C&C 35 MK-II
Posts: 176
Re: Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

Here you go:

http://www.milltechmarine.com/custom...tall_Guide.pdf

Page 10 & 11.
__________________

__________________
Thanks,
Ron
ronstory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 12:40   #3
Registered User
 
wrwakefield's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Still enamored of higher latitudes; exploring Southcentral and Southeast Alaska— and British Columbia— for now...
Boat: Nauticat 43
Posts: 1,120
Re: Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
I installed an external antenna some time ago for better GPS reception, of course now the antenna location is my stern and not the center of the boat anymore where the WatchMate is.
It is an issue now when using the anchor watch as of course the anchor isn’t where the WatchMate is told it is.
I can’t figure out where and how to edit it, does anyone know how, s in what menu either on the WatchMate vision itself or the app?
A64,

I prefer to use the vmAIS app on my computer for both our old Watchmate 850 and the newer Vision which replaced it. [I don't know which Watchmate you have... there are 3 that I know of if we include the new Vision2 model... EDIT: Sorry... more coffee forthcoming. Vision. Got it...

You can download it from the app store for your OS of choice.

From a Watchmate Vision or Vision2 [touchscreen] you can also use the built-in menus:

Settings/AIS Settings/My Vessel Details/GPS Antenna Location

Hope this helps.

Cheers! Bill
__________________
SV Denali Rose

Short on opinions; focused on research, facts & experience [yours and ours...]
wrwakefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 13:16   #4
Registered User
 
wrwakefield's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Still enamored of higher latitudes; exploring Southcentral and Southeast Alaska— and British Columbia— for now...
Boat: Nauticat 43
Posts: 1,120
Re: Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

A64,

I meant to also include the menu path for adjusting GPS location from the Watchmate App on a pad or smart phone:

Watchmate/Vessel Details

Also, double check that the values you input for your GPS location add up to the LOA you wish to display for vessels that receive your AIS info... [i.e., measure from the LOA coordinates instead of LOD coordinates... It can make a difference...]

Cheers! Bill
__________________
SV Denali Rose

Short on opinions; focused on research, facts & experience [yours and ours...]
wrwakefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 13:24   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Kemah, TX
Boat: 1979 Cape Dory 30 Cutter
Posts: 138
Re: Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

You need the vmAIS utility.
J.Kitchens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 16:11   #6
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 22,887
Re: Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

I have the app, I can view it there, but canít edit?
Anyway found out where to edit on the screen menu, then it kept saying I hadnít saved the changes?
Finally seems to take, and as usual for me, Iím not sure exactly what I did to make it work

Thanks guys
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2018, 17:58   #7
Registered User
 
wrwakefield's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Still enamored of higher latitudes; exploring Southcentral and Southeast Alaska— and British Columbia— for now...
Boat: Nauticat 43
Posts: 1,120
Re: Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
I have the app, I can view it there, but canít edit?
Anyway found out where to edit on the screen menu, then it kept saying I hadnít saved the changes?
Finally seems to take, and as usual for me, Iím not sure exactly what I did to make it work

Thanks guys
Yes, all 3 interfaces are different...

On the Vision touchscreen for changing the GPS location, you have to touch the circle with the down arrow [Save] instead of the X when you are finished inputting the new measurements.

On the smartphone/tablet app, you have to touch each dimension individually to edit it.

That is why I prefer the vmAIS app/utility running on my computer [Mac]. It makes it a bit easier, and has more info to play with as well.

For next time...

Cheers! Bill
__________________
SV Denali Rose

Short on opinions; focused on research, facts & experience [yours and ours...]
wrwakefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2018, 11:13   #8
MJH
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Boat: Tayana Vancouver 42AC
Posts: 154
Re: Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
I installed an external antenna some time ago for better GPS reception, of course now the antenna location is my stern and not the center of the boat anymore where the WatchMate is.
It is an issue now when using the anchor watch as of course the anchor isnít where the WatchMate is told it is.
I canít figure out where and how to edit it, does anyone know how, s in what menu either on the WatchMate vision itself or the app?
I don't understand why you feel you needed better GPS reception. How/where did you mount/connect it and what problems did you have with GPS reception?

I have a Vespermarine Watchman 850 connected to my VHF antenna via a Vespermarine SP160 splitter (installed 2014) and don't have any problem with it whatsoever. It is mounted at the navigation station and supplies GPS and AIS data to my laptop charts. It works better than I ever thought it would.

~ ~ _/) ~ ~ MJH
MJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2018, 11:32   #9
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 22,887
Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

Itís mounted in my Nav station as well, but has the VHF radio just above it, maybe the VHF blocks satellite reception, or maybe the deck, or more likely they both do some.
However with an external antenna, it gets many satellites, with a very good DOP, or EPE whichever Vesper calls it.
The better the accuracy, the more accurate it will be in anchor watch.
It tracks more satellites and has better accuracy than my Zeus plotter, so as itís on the bus, I use it as the GPS source for the Zeus as well.
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2018, 17:30   #10
MJH
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Boat: Tayana Vancouver 42AC
Posts: 154
Re: Edit Antenna Location on Vesper WatchMate

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
Itís mounted in my Nav station as well, but has the VHF radio just above it, maybe the VHF blocks satellite reception, or maybe the deck, or more likely they both do some.

However with an external antenna, it gets many satellites, with a very good DOP, or EPE whichever Vesper calls it.
The better the accuracy, the more accurate it will be in anchor watch.
It tracks more satellites and has better accuracy than my Zeus plotter, so as itís on the bus, I use it as the GPS source for the Zeus as well.

I suspect that the VHF above your AIS is what is blocking the GPS signal. My AIS is above everything else at the Nav station with just the deck above it and operates fine.

~ ~ _/) ~ ~ MJH
__________________

MJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD] Vesper WatchMate 850 AIS Class B transponder w/gps antenna - good condition - $499 oddasea Classifieds Archive 1 10-04-2016 06:35
AIS: Icom MA 530 TR or Watchmate 850 from Vesper Alecadi Marine Electronics 41 19-04-2013 22:43
Anyone with the Vesper Watchmate ? CAELESTIS Marine Electronics 33 17-03-2013 17:42



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.