Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-10-2010, 16:45   #1

Boat: 382 Diesel Duck
DSC Calling for Other than Distress ?

We got our two Standard Horizon HX850S handheld VHF radios today. They may be an outdated model but fit our needs perfectly !

Reading the instructions reminded me of reading VHS video recorder instructions back in the 80s. While I'm a professional geek I wonder how many boaters actually bother reading the DSC instructions and therefore use the DSC features for anything but distress calls ? I can imagine a lot of radios out there with the VHF equivalent of the blinking 12:00 display on video tape decks.

So, do any of you use the DSC feature or is it a good idea that will probably fade away ?

-Sven
Old 20-10-2010, 17:07   #2
Eternal Member

Boat: Vancouver 36 cutter????
Send a message via Skype™ to capt_douglas
One of the nice features of DSC is, if you know the other boats MMSI, to send private messages. In "monitored" waters, this can be a very nice feature. It can take a bit of time to program a message so Twitter/text experience is an asset.

• Privately hail another DSC equipped vessel, or shore station, with a known MMSI number. Like having a "VHF phone number" this avoids having to monitor high traffic channels just for a hail from your boating buddy. It even "rings" your radio, similar to a telephone, notifying you that you have a call and then switches you automatically to the channel your caller is waiting on.

• If properly connected to a Loran or GPS, a "Polling" feature transmits your vessel's position, in digital display, that can be monitored by DSC equipped home station/fleet station or boat.

Old 20-10-2010, 17:14   #3
cruiser

Boat: Looking and saving for my next...mid-atlantic coast