Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-04-2013, 17:59   #1

First Perspectives

For those who don't remember me, I'm a trucker who is dreaming of the sail life. I lurk around here frequently, gathering information and opinions from you guys and gals.
I've never sailed before, nor ever been on a sailing craft. I've been enamored with the idea of sailing since I first read Treasure Island, Robinson Crusoe, Two Years Before the Mast and others. I studied square-riggers, and often made drawings of them at sea. i'm pretty good with nautical terms and such.
But, life lead me on a different course. I've realized some of the things I envisioned as a youngster, but not sailing.
This year, I got to take a short, 3 day cruise on the Carnival Imagination. This was the first time I had ever been to sea, except for the weekend scuba junket I took in the late '70s. It was quite a nice trip.

I've been in contact with several yacht brokers, and have yarded out the ones that seem only interested in selling a boat, not anything else.
I have a lot of changes coming soon, and one was cancelling the lease of my truck from one company and leasing to another company, which I have just done 3 weeks ago. Finances aren't good, but hey, they can kill you but they they can't eat you!
I needed some perspective about living aboard, I mean, just how much room IS there on a sailboat?
I mean, I live in a 42 sf space with no bathroom, galley, and I do OK. So, last weekend, I found myself in Houston, TX waiting for a load. I called Rick Weiler at Little Yacht Sales down in Kemah, and let him know I was planning on paying him a visit.