Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2009, 04:36   #1

Boat: Hunter 30 - Southern Heart
Heading South from NC

Hello all,
I am a soldier currently serving in Afghanistan. I am planning a trip this summer. I will be home around the first of June and will take the next two months off and cruise to points south. I have been sailing on and off since I was 17 ( I am now 49). I left Aberdeen, Maryland last March where I had a 23' O'Day and sailed extensively on the Chesapeake Bay. I bought a 30' Hunter when I was home this past September. It sits all alone at the Pecan Grove Marina in Oriental, NC.

Can anyone point me to the best place to plan this trip? I have been in the "Ditch" on many occasions, including sailing a 28' O'Day from Holden beach back up to Aberdeen. Great trip. My questions range from "where to find the listing of inlets that I can go outside and back in" to "can I plan the passage from Oriental, NC to Key West including distances and inlets (I know weather is my first concern as that will dictate time) and where to find an easy way to plot this"?
neozonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 05:31   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: O'day 30 "Waverider III"
Send a message via Skype™ to waverider
Neozonny,

First I would like to thank you for your service in the forces. I am not an American but our troops are there with you and we wish you all a safe return home.