Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2012, 20:48   #1

Favorite route: Victoria to Vancouver

Hello newfound fellow sailors!

I was wondering if any of you BC boaters could share your favorite sailing route from Victoria to Vancouver? I'm new to this hobby so am a little unfamiliar with these routes outside of taking the BC Ferries so your tips would be greatly appreciated!

I'll be taking a 34' Peterson, and am looking to go within a couple weeks (late December).

Also, can any of you give me a rough idea of the estimated length of journey (which is obviously weather dependent of course!)

Thank you

Rob
Carogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 21:02   #2
DRS

Boat: Lagoon 380
Re: Favorite route: Victoria to Vancouver

Two weeks to do a day trip gives you lots of options. I would normally break it into a 2 day trip Victoria to Sidney Spit or Montague, or Ganges then through Active pass or Porlier and across to Vancouver. With 2 weeks you can spend lots of time exploring the Gulf Islands before heading to Vancouver.
Old 05-12-2012, 21:06   #3

Boat: grampian 26

Make sure you pick your tides when transiting either pass
perchance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 21:08   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by DRS View Post
Two weeks to do a day trip gives you lots of options. I would normally break it into a 2 day trip Victoria to Sidney Spit or Montague, or Ganges then through Active pass or Porlier and across to Vancouver. With 2 weeks you can spend lots of time exploring the Gulf Islands before heading to Vancouver.