Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-10-2009, 22:07   #1
Registered User
 
bewitched's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 885
Images: 3
AIS Question

An AIS transponder will identify your vessel type. For us that would be either sailing vessel (when sailing) or motor vessel (when not).

The setting is not all that easy to change. It requires going back into the whole set up process.

There is a safety issue here. What setting do you use? Why? Is is something that a particular brand has overcome (quick and easy switching)
__________________

__________________
bewitched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2009, 22:56   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
rebel heart's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6,190
Images: 3
I think you'd want to stick with sail; even though you're a "motor vessel" while under motor, you're extremely underpowered compared to the other "motor vessels" out there. Additionally I think it would a bit confusing to a bridge crew to get a "motor vessel" readout and then identify you as a sail boat (regardless of your current propulsion).

That's my $0.02; more than happy to hear another version.
__________________

__________________
rebel heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2009, 22:59   #3
Registered User
 
captden's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tortola BVI
Boat: Vagabond 47
Posts: 158
Images: 16
Makes sense to me
__________________
captden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 00:14   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
delmarrey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Now in Blaine, WA
Boat: Modified Choate 40
Posts: 10,702
Images: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebel heart View Post
I think you'd want to stick with sail; even though you're a "motor vessel" while under motor, you're extremely underpowered compared to the other "motor vessels" out there. Additionally I think it would a bit confusing to a bridge crew to get a "motor vessel" readout and then identify you as a sail boat (regardless of your current propulsion).

That's my $0.02; more than happy to hear another version.
Ditto!
__________________
Faithful are the Wounds of a Friend, but the Kisses of the Enemy are Deceitful! ........
A nation of sheep breeds a government of wolves!

Unprepared boaters, end up as floatsum!.......
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 01:25   #5
Moderator
 
Paul Elliott's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,866
Images: 4
Yes, especially if you are talking about a Class-B transponder. I don't think that in normal operation any of the "static" information is intended to be changed. I suggest that you stick with "sailing vessel" -- that's what I do.
__________________
Paul Elliott, S/V VALIS - Pacific Seacraft 44 #16 - Friday Harbor, WA
www.sailvalis.com
Paul Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 01:39   #6
Registered User
 
bewitched's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 885
Images: 3
Yes - Class B

I guess it's the modern day equivalent of the inverted cone motorsailing dilema
__________________
bewitched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 02:15   #7
Registered User
 
Hampus's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Boat: Between boats
Posts: 463
Images: 6
Send a message via MSN to Hampus
The static data telling everyone what kind of ship you are should never be changed. I'm not too sure about a class B transponder, but on a class A you have dynamic data to change like vessel status; under way using engine, moored, aground, anchored etc. Regardless of what, a tanker is a tanker and a sailing ship is a sailing ship.
__________________
http://adventureswithsyingeborg.blogspot.com/
On the way back to Sweden.
Hampus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 02:57   #8
Registered User
 
bewitched's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 885
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hampus View Post
sailing ship is a sailing ship.
a sailing vessel is only a sailing vessel if the engine is not being used for propulsion.

As soon as you turn the propellor, you are no longer a sailing vessel (under colregs)

and presumably should identify yourself as such???
__________________
bewitched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 03:06   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey USA
Boat: Cape Dory 28 Sloop - s/v Kerry Deare of Barnegat
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by bewitched View Post
An AIS transponder will identify your vessel type. For us that would be either sailing vessel (when sailing) or motor vessel (when not ... What setting do you use? ...
I only have an AIS receiver so I am not sure about this, but can you select "sailing auxiliary"?
__________________
Good luck and good sailing.
s/v Kerry Deare of Barnegat
http:\\yachtkerrydeare.blogspot.com
kerrydeare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 03:29   #10
Registered User
 
Zanshin's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Caribbean
Boat: Jeanneau 57
Posts: 1,621
I don't think that Class A systems use the vessel type broadcast by a Class B AIS for COLREGS, I would stick with sailing vessel in my static data as that will give the receiver an indication that your top speed isn't going to be too high and that your course predictability won't be high, either. For those interested, USCG AIS "B" Message contents
__________________
Zanshin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 03:35   #11
Registered User
 
Hampus's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Boat: Between boats
Posts: 463
Images: 6
Send a message via MSN to Hampus
Quote:
Originally Posted by bewitched View Post
a sailing vessel is only a sailing vessel if the engine is not being used for propulsion.

As soon as you turn the propellor, you are no longer a sailing vessel (under colregs)

and presumably should identify yourself as such???
That is true, but not as far as the AIS is concerned. You identify the type of ship under static data and a sailing ship is always a sailing ship, regardless of it's propulsion or if it's morred or under way. However, you set the dynamic data according to your status. A few of the selections are: Under way using engine, moored, aground, fishing, at anchor etc. That is where you tell people what you are up to. The dynamic data should constantly be adjusted to fit the situation, the static data should never be changed. Since I've only operated class A transponders, I couldn't tell you if you can change dynamic data on a class B transonder. Never the less, static data should remain unchanged.

/Hampus
__________________
http://adventureswithsyingeborg.blogspot.com/
On the way back to Sweden.
Hampus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 03:37   #12
Registered User
 
bewitched's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 885
Images: 3
using an example:

bad visability (lashing with rain at night)
no visual contact
I am travelling west to east
From AIS I see a power driven vessel traveling south to north

If I am sailing I am the stand on vessel, if I am motoring, he is the stand on vessel.

room for confusion, no??

The reason I asked the question was that I was in this situation, with an AIS Transponder identifying me as a sailing vessel. The crossing was going to be too close for comfort if he took no avoiding action. I remember thinking " he's probably got me on AIS, but I wonder if he's 1) opened the window where he can see my info and 2) read all the way down to the bit where it says "vessel type". Or has he just seen the little triangle and thought "I'm stand on vessel because he is approaching from the left.

I changed course and went behind in the end.
__________________
bewitched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 03:43   #13
Registered User
 
bewitched's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 885
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hampus View Post
However, you set the dynamic data according to your status. A few of the selections are: Under way using engine, moored, aground, fishing, at anchor etc.

/Hampus
Thanks Hampus - this makes a lot of sense

I'll check again, but I seem to remember this wasn't such a quick thing to do
__________________
bewitched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 03:54   #14
Registered User
 
bewitched's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 885
Images: 3
This is the AIS I had on board

http://www.comarsystems.com/csb_200.html

Perhaps I'm being a bit thick here - but why would it transmit my "type of vessel" if this information wasn't to be used for the purposes of navigation?
__________________
bewitched is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 04:30   #15
Registered User
 
Hampus's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sweden
Boat: Between boats
Posts: 463
Images: 6
Send a message via MSN to Hampus
I checked it. You can't set navigation status on a class B transponder. You just set the ship type to whatever ship you've got and be done with it The reason for the ship type option is partly for navigational purposes, but mostly for VTS services. The ship type is never changed though.

/Hampus
__________________

__________________
http://adventureswithsyingeborg.blogspot.com/
On the way back to Sweden.
Hampus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Northstar 567 and NASA AIS Engine II Question Marthon Navigation 1 14-08-2009 10:44
Raymarine RADAR/AIS Question Dockhead Marine Electronics 27 04-08-2009 01:31
AIS Question bottleinamessage Marine Electronics 3 10-07-2009 11:06
Who should have AIS B? sandy daugherty Marine Electronics 37 08-11-2008 02:56
Not new at all! AIS... Amgine Marine Electronics 1 03-12-2006 12:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.