Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2009, 02:45   #1

Boat: 50' steel canal and river cruiser
Idiot's Guide to Watermakers, Please

Hi.

Whilst im no stranger to engineering and plumbing (im a heating engineer), the concept of reverse osmosis is all new to me so could you please give me an idiots guide to the whole process of onboard watermaking.

ive done some reading and have a few thoughts.

If the daily average useage is say 50 galls, and all you need to do it top up the water tanks, then isnt it better to produce 2-3 galls per hour, every hour as this uses less electricity (assuming its 12v) and the membrane is in constant use which is better for it?

Please talk me through the process, the membrane and its peculiarities, how is it backwashed to stay clean, etc etc

Thanks
Old 20-05-2009, 05:30   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Quote:
Originally Posted by anjou View Post
1. If the daily average useage is say 50 galls, and all you need to do it top up the water tanks,
2.then isnt it better to produce 2-3 galls per hour, every hour as this uses less electricity (assuming its 12v) and the membrane is in constant use which is better for it?
1. Fifty gallons/day fresh water consumption suggests either a large crew, or very luxurious* (wasteful?) Lifestyle.
One common recommendation for passagemaking is to assume a consumption of about 2.5 to 3.0 gallons per person per day.

* Long, Hot, Freshwater showers consume huge amounts of energy (heating & desalinating).

Maggie could enjoy a 5 gallon shower, including wash/rinse of her long & thick hair.
I used < 1 gallon to rinse only, after saltwater bathing.