Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-04-2023, 18:28   #1

Boat: Viksund Goldfish 31 feet
Diesel heater fuel pump placement

Hi!

It's my first time installing a diesel heater and I struggle a little bit with the placement of the fuel pump.

Here's two pictures.

The first one is the setup with a mikuni that was already broken when I bought the boat.

The second picture is what I assume is a better install for a new one?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0058.jpg
Views:	963
Size:	149.9 KB
ID:	274628   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0057.jpg
Views:	286
Size:	151.2 KB
ID:	274629  

SailorJoJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2023, 19:12   #2

Re: Diesel heater fuel pump placement

I got a Planar heater for my boat and the pump is very fussy about how its installed, also, its a metering pump so only clicks every now and then.... not continuously like an engine fuel pump. The fuel line is usually transparent which allows you to see bubbles in the flow[ATTACH]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5261.jpg
Views:	384
Size:	101.4 KB
ID:	274630  
skipperpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2023, 19:33   #3

Boat: 1999 Hunter 410

2nd photo is the way to go.
Windpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2023, 19:53   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windpilot View Post
2nd photo is the way to go.

Thanks!
Old 26-04-2023, 20:19   #5

Boat: Hullmaster 27

definitely the second ... you do not want a high spot in the line after the pump where air bubbles can accumulate.
Kelkara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2023, 20:57   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelkara View Post
definitely the second ... you do not want a high spot in the line after the pump where air bubbles can accumulate.
Yeah..