Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2009, 17:01   #1

Boat: L. Francis Herreshoff H28 Ketch & Brisol 24 @ 25'
Sea Trial # 1

As the proud new owner of a steel Herreshof 28 ketch, after a week of shore-work and preparations I finally was ready for sea trail # 1. I must apologise that the nautical explanations in this post might not be as tight as the writings of Joseph Conrad. While I have done a lot of professional fishing, surfing and diving, I am new to this sailing game. As such, I will attempt to describe my experience in fairly plain English.

So it was a blustery arvo and I was going a bit stir crazy sitting at dock in the relentless tropical heat with the islands of the Whitsunday’s a cannon shot away; time for sea trail # 1. I first had the 2 genoa out, but decided with the cloud mounting to the south and the variable winds I would go with a smaller staysail and first reef in the main. Being maintenance conscious I gave the clips on the sails a bit of lannox to keep them functioning. When finished, I gently tossed the bottle of lannox onto some ropes on the bow. Unfortunately the screw on the pump bottle was cross threaded and around 300 ml leaked out onto the deck.