Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Families, Kids and Pets Afloat
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2011, 08:06   #1

Newbie Here: What to Do with the House While You Cruise ?

What I really would like to know here is how other people went about either A) getting renters or B) getting caretakers... I have a farm and and my boyfriend has a boat and we want to cruise. Even though renters pay rent, do "I" pay caretakers to look after my land? How does this work? what have others done? I am not sure where to go to find out...should I talk to a real estate agent about how to "manage" a property while away? I am afraid renters will abuse my land and house, but obviously paying my mortgage AND paying a caretaker is expensive! I want to have my place looked after for maybe 6 months to a year. What about utilities? How about my furniture and appliances? I want to leave it all there. I know a lot of people sell it all and go but I love my farm and often it's my livelihood. What do cruisers do with their homes while cruising? Please, any advise would be great, thanks!
Patience Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 09:10   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: Newbie here, what to do with the house while you cruise

Maybe a property management firm to look after and rent the farm for you. Safer I think then trying to deal with a renter from long distance/another country.

Beni
sailorchic34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:07   #3

Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
Re: Newbie here, what to do with the house while you cruise

You definitely should keep your home/farm. Years ago my wife was despondent after selling all and buying a cruising boat. We bought a condo and she was happy again- she had a home base to return to if the #$%& hit the fan.