Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2013, 20:22   #1

Guten Tag!

Hello all,

I've read this forum for nearly a year now, so I decided to register. Currently I have zero sailing experience. I have time at sea from being in the Marines, but I don't count that as sailing. I plan to remedy that situation by building a dinghy and learning what I can here in Arkansas. I also plan on taking offshore classes as time permits over the next few years.

My partner - we live in sin - and I have decided that within the next ten years we will take our family on a long term (at least 2 years) cruise of the Caribbean. That should give us plenty of time for everyone to learn to sail, and our three daughters, now 6, 4, and 2, will be old enough to actively participate in the journey. Those years will also give us plenty of time to find the right boat and build a kitty to support our life at sea.

Call us dreamers, idiots, and fools, but remember, most cruisers started with similar dreams. We understand that the cruising life is not filled with days lounging in the sun and drinking rum. As of now, we are both more scared of being on a boat with three teenage girls than being covered in engine crud and marine toilet overflow.

Fair winds and following seas.
DCade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 21:01   #2

Boat: Looking...
Re: Guten Tag!

Welcome! Lots of good advice, encouragement, and helpful lessons learned here.

You folks have a great time ib store for yourselves. Time spent together sailing is the best time a family can have!

westsail374 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 06:25   #3
Nearly an old salt

Boat: Bavaria 36

welcome aboard

Quote:
My partner - we live in sin
Nice place,lots of folk live there, must be the weather or something!.

DAve