Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-05-2018, 07:07   #1

Mushrooms

So im new to sailing /live aboard life. Im doing research on foods that can be cultivated on boats, and canning meats etc for long term food supply. For some reason i can find zero information about growing edible mushrooms on a boat. All i find is stories about wooden boats with bad mushrooms. I know growing veggies is very complex on a cruising boat, but mushrooms love damp dark conditions. Perfect on a boat. So why are people not growing shitake , oyster, or similar edible mushrooms? Great source of food with little work. Plus storing away in dark while sailing would not adversely effect them. Any information you guys have to share or ideas would be great. Im thinking sprouts, simple plants, and mushrooms would all be amazing additions to reducing costs of living aboard. Thanks for your time.
FutureSail87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2018, 07:34   #2

Boat: Hunter 340, 1999, 34'
Re: Mushrooms

It can be done:

Palm Beach County mushrooms: Man arrested on rare charges for 'magic mushrooms.' - tribunedigital-sunsentinel
Attikos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-2018, 07:39   #3