Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Life Aboard a Boat > Liveaboard's Forum
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2009, 08:49   #1

pirate 6ft8 30k to spend on a boat HELP!!!!

Hi guys/girls,

Im 6ft8 and want to cruise around the world in a sailboat. I am not very experienced and am reading a lot etc. I would like to do coastal sailing first before i cross an ocean. Couple of questions for you experienced sailors.

1. What is a good boat for single handed sailing being 6ft8
2. min lenght I try to avoid inboard engine and have an outboard with solar panels and wind.
3. Refrigerator on board y/n? Is it doable without an inboard engine and only solar and wind.
Let me know guys I want to leave this sumer
gr8pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 09:03   #2

Boat: Jeanneau 38 Gin Fizz- Rhosyn Mor
A couple of things;
at 6'8" its going to be hard to find a boat with that headroom in your budget, but they do exist. Columbia 45 would fit. having said that I would not pick a big boat like that as your first boat.
At 30K ( USD I presume?) you will seeing a number of boats in the 27-30 foot range, all of which will require substantial investment (?) in order to safely coastal cruise. Anything larger will require more cash in order to sail.
On any boat small enough to have an outboard engine you will have issues with space for solar panels and wind generator, especially for a fridge unit.
Back to the budget thing; There are any number of small boats that are good for coastal crusing, Pearson Triton, Pearson Vanguard, Flicka, She 29, Trintella 29,etc